Men & BBQ

Last year I came across the loveliest cookbook. I was walking past the cookbook shelf at a Barnes & Noble and this book caught my eye. I had never heard of Moosewood (doesn’t the name conjure up a rustic hunting lodge to you?) before and learned that they have a thriving restaurant in Ithaca, New York.  After buying the book, I sat down with my trusty post-it flags to mark the recipes I wanted to try.

Image

One empty post-it pack of 50 later, I started from the beginning to pick which recipe I wanted to try first. The Winner? Texas Barbecue Bean Soup. I got great reviews from Rabin, Adam & Tariq almost immediately. What is it with men and BBQ?!

Ok fine…I admit that I can be a bit of a BBQ jerk as well – don’t just bake chicken and then rub a little sauce diluted with ketchup on top when it’s finished! I want my chicken burned and blackened and sticky with sauce! My hands should smell like a BBQ grill! Oh…Yes. Right. Vegetarian month. I’m thrilled to report that this soup satisfied the BBQ craving and is a fabulous way to get that flavor without having to say to the people around you “sorry, I have to eat this with my hands” (also known as the chicken wing effect).

Image
I used frozen beans, canned corn, wiri pepper and red onions that I had on hand.

 

This Recipe is Reprinted with permission of the authors from Moosewood Restaurant Favorites, Copyright 2013, by Moosewood, Inc., St. Martin’s Press, publisher.

Texas Barbecue Bean Soup

Headnote

Make the soup with two types of beans: white, red, pinto, black beans, black-eye peas, whatever is on hand.

Ingredients

Yields 8 cups

Time: 1 hour

2 tablespoons vegetable or olive oil

2 cups chopped onions

1 cup diced celery

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 teaspoon salt

1 large red or green bell pepper, seeded and diced

2 tablespoons chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (or 1 fresh hot pepper, minced)

2 teaspoons dried oregano

1 teaspoon dried thyme

2 teaspoons ground cumin seeds

½ teaspoon ground black pepper

2 cups water

One 15-ounce can diced tomatoes

Two 15-ounce cans beans (about 3 cups beans), rinsed and drained (see headnote)

1 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels

1/3 cup barbecue sauce 

Warm the oil in a covered soup pot on low heat. Add the onions, celery, garlic and salt and cook for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally until the onions are very soft. Add the bell peppers, chipotles, oregano, thyme, cumin and black pepper and cook on medium heat for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Stir in water and tomatoes and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for about 10 minutes, or until the vegetables are tender. Add the beans, corn, and barbecue sauce, bring back to a simmer, and cook for at least 10 minutes.

_______

Thanks to Laura & the Moosewood staff!

Image
My version came out something like this.

 

My friend Marissa also made a great and very intriguing suggestion – a BBQ flavoured salad dressing. Making my own salad dressing is also on the list…maybe I can combine 2 resolutions?

2 comments

  1. This looks sooo good Indi! You are definitely making my mouth water. I’m showing everyone the pics here at work!

Leave a Reply

