Avocado Chicken Soup

Avocado in my opinion is one of the most versatile fruits I’ve ever come across. It’s a wonderful healthy substitute for lots of creamy dishes. Apart from its popular use as guacamole, I’ve seen it used in pasta, salads, smoothies, I’ve seen it baked, fried, used in pesto, and I’ve even seen it used in desserts like pudding, ice cream and chocolate chip cookies. It’s also so healthy because it contains good stuff like monosaturated fats, fiber & potassium. I can’t describe how irrationally accomplished I feel when I split an avocado in two and see a perfectly unblemished green & yellow flesh.

My first experience with Avocado in soup was a few years back when Rabin and I had Ajiaco (a Colombian chicken and potato soup with stuff like corn, capers & avocado) at a Colombian restaurant. The avocado was neatly cut into chunks in a saucer at the side of my bowl so I was free to choose how much I wanted in my soup. I wisely chose all.

Avocado in soup, while it sounds weird is surprisingly great. Its smooth, creamy consistency (even when kept in chunks) helps keep the soup light while still filling you up. Additionally, the little bursts of silky texture add a nice comforting element to the soup.

Avocado Chicken Soup

This is my adaptation of this Avocado Chicken Soup recipe I found online. I made pretty significant modifications to it so I’ve posted my version of the recipe below. I didn’t end up using all of the shredded chicken or the avocado so my next post will be about using up leftovers.

Avocado Chicken Soup

Ingredients

2 chicken breasts, diced

3 teaspoons olive oil

salt & freshly ground pepper to taste

¼ cup green onions, chopped

1 onion, sliced

1 stalk celery, diced

1 teaspoon minced garlic

2 tomatoes, roughly chopped

2/3 cup canned mushrooms (optional)

5 cups chicken broth or water

¼ teaspoon cumin

1 avocado, diced

1 tbsp dried cilantro

Instructions

Take half of the chicken broth and boil the diced chicken breasts in the chicken broth. When cooked, remove from broth, cool and shred (you can keep it diced but I shredded it to retain a more uniform texture throughout the soup). In a dutch oven or equivalent, heat the oil over medium heat and add the green onions, onions, celery and minced garlic to pot; Sauté about 2 minutes.

Add tomatoes & mushrooms; Sauté 1 minute, until soft.

Add remaining chicken broth, chicken and broth mixture, cumin, cilantro and salt to pot. Add salt & pepper to taste. Stir well and bring to a boil. Cover pot and simmer on low for 15 to 20 minutes.

Image

To serve, place 1 serving of avocado in each bowl, ladle soup into bowls over avocado. Stir to combine.

Avocado Chicken Soup2

4 comments

Leave a Reply

