Food Resolution: Is there a good time for a smoothie?

For some reason, I don’t see the practicality of smoothies. I’m a hardcore coffee / tea drinker in the morning, a coffee drinker in the afternoon, a tea drinker at night and a beer drinker at most social gatherings. Add in the water I mostly guilt drink to offset that and where is the time for another beverage? I can’t stand the thought of something cold in the morning and I can’t wrap my mind around a smoothie as a meal… but then I can’t deal with having a smoothie with a meal either cause that makes me feel bloated. Problems, problems. Is there a good time for a smoothie? Someone please enlighten me!

I also haven’t had the best luck with smoothies which of course has contributed to the problem. I made a smoothie in a food processor once because my blender was in storage and predictably, it sort of exploded and leaked through the entire cover and onto the ground. After I cleaned it up I picked up the container forgetting that there is the hole at the bottom where the blade goes. And spilled it again.  Then in January, I used oats in the smoothie which. was. DISGUSTING. It was like drinking your own vomit if your vomit was cold and berry flavoured. :s I also dislike that smoothies tend to come apart very easily, especially if you use ice, so you have to make and drink it immediately. I feel like it’s too much effort for something I’m not even that interested in.

Ok enough with the hating. I do see the benefit in smoothies though and I know that you can get wonderful boosts of all sorts of healthy and powerful ingredients. Hence my resolution: make two different types of smoothies per month. As of February 25, I didn’t even make one smoothie for the month! To make things worse, Saturday is my market day and there was too much going on this week for me to go before that. I was in trouble. With Necessity’s Mother breathing down my neck, I give you one of my smoothie Inventions:

 The “Oh crap I’m about to fail my resolution so let me throw together the ingredients I have but don’t make it gross” smoothie

AKA Apple Cinnamon Peanut Butter Smoothie

Yields 1 ¼ cups

1 Apple (I used Gala but you can use any kind. The Granny Smith apple may be too tart though)

½ cup Soy or Almond Milk

1 tsp Wheat Germ

2 tsp creamy Peanut Butter

¼ tsp Cinnamon

 

Image
I had already started mixing when I realized I didn’t take a picture. Ah, the perils of food blogging!

Combine all ingredients. Blend until smooth.

Image
I only saw that sticker on the immersion blender about two weeks ago. After using it for about 1 1/2 years…

I think I ended up liking this smoothie because the milk helped to thin it out and I’m not a fan of thick beverages. Reduce the milk if you’d like a thicker drink.

Image
If I ever become a successful talk show host and make a list of my favourite things every Christmas, mason jars would always be on it. Always.

Second recipe to follow soon!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

