The Liebster Award

Image
Well. Blogging just keeps surprising me in the best ways possible! The lovely Chef Julianna at http://foodieonboard.com floored me yesterday with a Nomination for the Leibster Award! Leibster in German means ‘sweetest, kindest or nicest’ and I have to thank Julianna for even considering my virtually newborn blog and for making me feel tremendously encouraged and thrilled that my writing and words mean something to someone. So thanks again to Julianna and to all of you that read my ramblings 🙂
 
Here are the rules:

1.  Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.

2.  Answer the questions given by the person who nominated you.

3.  Nominate 5 – 10 people for the award.

4.  Ask 10 – 11 questions for the bloggers you have nominated.

5.  Comment on the nominated blogs to let the nominees know they have received the award.

 
Here are the Questions Julianna sent me:
 

1.  What is your favourite go-to cookbook?

It would have to be ‘the Mediterrasian Way’ by Ric Watson and Trudy Thelander. The book is quite inspirational and describes Ric’s comeback from a permanent left-sided disability. It not only gives great advice on how to live a healthy life with lots of exercise but the recipes included are solid, staple meals. I’ve cooked many recipes from this book and have yet to find a bad or even a not-so great one.

2.  Who is your favourite food celebrity?

Well I’m not sure what qualifies as a food celebrity. I actually find that I follow food blogs a lot more than any Food Network type celebrity. If I did have to choose someone from Food Network / Cooking Channel, it would have to be Jeffrey Saad. I had seen him on an episode of Chopped All-Stars once and was enthralled with the way he spoke about spices and combinations and how he prepared the meal. He received second place in the Competition and in a fit of excitement I tweeted him my congrats…and he responded! Talk about being a fangirl LOL. Anyway so although I haven’t followed his show (we don’t get Cooking Channel on our cable service), I bought his cookbook and thoroughly enjoy it and I love that he involves his family in the cooking process as well.

3.  You have been given a free cooking class in any country you choose.  Where are you going?

I’d have to say USA or Canada – but I specifically want to have the class to be seafood specific. I would really love to learn to cook mussels and scallops and lobster and squid and crab. I have tried a few times on occasion but my phobia of undercooking seafood remains rampant. I am not a fish fan (except for Salmon) and would love to expand my knowledge base to the shellfish and seafood that I do love. I think butter, wine and black pepper are delicious with seafood so I don’t need to learn any fancy curry of stir fry – I want to learn that simple, clean and classic elegance.

4. Who has been the biggest influence on your interest in cooking?

My biggest influence has been Rabin. My love for cooking revealed itself when we got married and I realized that I cook a lot simply because I know he will eat it. I look forward to his reviews and he’s pretty open with trying new stuff. The few times that he has been away, I haven’t felt the urge to cook and have actually eaten like crap, so I think he is a huge motivator in my food progress. 
I think my second biggest motivators are my parents. Growing up in a supermarket family had me immersed in food from an early age although I didn’t even realize it then. My parents never pushed me to learn to cook nor was I interested when my mom was cooking. I never had an easy-bake oven and family gatherings never centered on food. But I do think that the oddest things about your childhood really shape who you are at your core. Two of my favourite places in the world are Supermarkets and Bookstores/Libraries and I’m pretty sure I have my parents to thank for the Supermarket and my Aunty Dee to thank for the bookstores / libraries. All feels right in the world when I step into any of these places.

5.  Why did you start blogging?

I think I may have touched on this topic in previous posts, but overall I wanted a creative outlet and I love writing. I wanted to document my food resolutions, but I also wanted to have something tangible that would be a reflection of me – and with all the delays in my life, it really was wonderful to find something that I could work on and publish immediately. It feels good to have control over this. 

6.  We are in the kitchen with you and the tunes are cranked.  What are we listening to?

Funny enough, I did a post on this recently. Those are still my favourites so I’m sticking to that list!

7. What is the most surprising thing you have learned from blogging?

How supportive complete strangers are. It really is a wonderful thing and makes me want to share the love. Also, the amount of work each blog post takes was a bit of a surprise – not necessarily a bad one. 

8.  What advice would you give to new bloggers?

Keep writing and constantly try to improve. Photography is a big part of each post, but don’t rely on filters and fancy effects. Your food should be able to speak for itself with minimal modification.

9.  What is your favourite midnight snack?

Cheese and Crackers and Tea! That has been my breakfast, mid afternoon snack and midnight snack for as long as I can remember. There’s something extremely comforting and filling about this combination and sometimes I go a little crazy and use bread instead of crackers.

10.  You have one wish.  What is it? 

Will it come true if I say it? 🙂 Without going into much detail, let’s just say I’d like to remember gratitude, serenity and finding joy in the little things, and for the people that I love to be happy. Does that count as one wish or two? 
 
My questions to the bloggers I’ve nominated:
1. Who inspires you?
2. What was the last thing that you cooked? 
3. What is your favourite comfort food? Why?
4. Your favourite food memory is:
5. Confess something. 
6. What cookbook would you cook your way through?
7. Chicken or Fish?
8. Could you ever become a Vegetarian or a Vegan? Why?
9. What’s the worst criticism you ever got on a dish you prepared and how did you deal with it?
10. Any weird allergies?
  
The lovely Bloggers that I’ve nominated are:
 
2. Steven @ Made by You and I
4. Ngan @ Ngan Made It
5. The Brook Cook @ The Brook Cook
15 comments

  1. Congrats, Indira! I, too, would enjoy a class on how to properly cook seafood since I often am baffled at the length of time it takes to cook certain seafood. I especially like your recommendation to new bloggers to let the food do the talking, rather than using filters. I definitely try to adhere to that.

    • Thank you, Ngan! The most I try to do is brighten and increase contrast a bit – although I love filters I think they really shouldn’t be used or should be used sparingly when it comes to food. When it comes to seafood, I prefer to overcook rather than undercook – especially since I hate that fishy smell :s

  2. Hi Indira! I really enjoyed reading your answers! So cool that you would consider Canada for the cooking course (my home)! We have amazing seafood over here on the west coast and I too could learn a lot more about it! I usually leave the salmon to my husband who does an awesome salmon on the BBQ! See you and enjoy the party!!

    • Thanks again for nominating me :). I also partially chose Canada because I’m Canadian as well – I was born and lived there until I was 10. Of course I wasn’t old enough to learn much cuisine wise so it would also be great to go back and travel along the west coast and gorge myself 🙂

  3. Congratulations Indira! I’m thrilled for you… a truly well deserved award!! I enjoyed reading your answers… and couldn’t agree more about the support of people that we have never met…which brings me to this…

    Thank you so much for thinking of me. I’m honored beyond belief…and probably will never get over how friendly and supportive my fellow bloggers are. When I first started my blog, I had no idea what to expect, but it was nothing like the support system that winds its way around this huge blogging community. I’m thrilled to be a part of this, and am so tickled that you thought of me. xx Thank you.

    • Thanks Prudy. Your kind words mean a lot – I find myself immensely looking forward to Fridays just so that I can mingle with you all. I really love seeing what you guys create and I love to share what I’ve done as well. Its also great to read everyone’s stories and experiences from the week. I’m so happy its fulfilling for you as well and I look forward to reading your answers to the questions I’ve posed 🙂

Leave a Reply

