Chocolate Pear Tartlets

Yesterday was International Day of Happiness and I did have my share of happiness this week. I was nominated for a Liebster Award, I am now a member of the Foodie Blog Roll, I had a productive week at work and I managed to reconnect with a few people. Also, lets not forget making and more importantly eating this gorgeous tart!

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

So my obsession with Pears continues. As I promised a few of you in my comments last week, I’ve broughtΒ another fabulously delicious chocolate and pear recipe to Fiesta Friday this week in the form of the Vintage Mixer’s Chocolate Pear Tartlets. Becky’s photos of the dessert are amazing and I had a great time dusting off my tartlet pans and making it. So much so that I forgot to make dinner…

picstitch (3)

I pretty much straight up followed the recipe except for a few minor modifications:

  1. I had 5 dates left after a granola bar binge last week…one short of what the recipe calls for. Becky made sure to point out that I should use medjool dates, and I did. To replace the 6th date, I ended up throwing in a handful of raisins which wasn’t too bad.
  2. I ended up with enough crust for 5 tartlets instead of 6. I may have spread the crust too thick, but it was worth it. Its a great element of the dessert.
  3. I used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar since I didn’t have white granulated sugar. I personally didn’t miss the sugar and prefer semi/bittersweet chocolate. It also just makes the dessert feel fancier somehow.
  4. Pear slices marinated with lemon juice and a dash of cinnamon are DELICIOUS. If you’re lazy or just don’t want to bake, just have that. I’m very close to trying this whole poached pears thing if it will taste anything close to this!
  5. I poured the batter into the crust first, placed the pears on top and then pushed it down slightly to get it snug into the batter. You might be able to pick out my first failed attempt at pouring the batter around the pear slices.
picstitch (4)
Before, middle, after!

The crust firmed up quite nicely and tastes vaguely fruitcake-ish. Β I love fruitcake and just eating it made me feel festive. What you end up with is a classy, sophisticated dessert that feels incredibly decadent without being too sweet. It will definitely impress the people that need impressing πŸ™‚

 

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

Have a great weekend!

65 comments

  1. This looks divine! I’ve been on such a chocolate kick lately, and I love your combination of pear + chocolate. I think it’s such a great pair; the juiciness of pear + the richness of chocolate. Heaven!

    • Thanks Lisa! That’s a perfect description really. I love that the pears don’t dry out but also dont get soggy. Its perfect to lighten the heaviness of the chocolate. Not that I’m complaining πŸ™‚

  2. I love “little desserts” and these tartlets are wonderful! I don’t think I have ever had pears with chocolate before and what a delicious sounding combination. I must find some of those tartlet pans!

  3. Well, I’d eat these instead of dinner, too. These are such beautiful little tarts–I would almost feel bad cutting into the pretty tops–almost. I love your use of pears in desserts and can’t wait to see more!

  4. That is a lovely fruit cake. I can so connect with you when you say you forgot to make dinner. Even I get preoccupied making new cakes that I forget to cook other things!

  5. International day of happiness, how wonderful. These look delicious. I love pears but it seems I keep buying them and letting them, unintentionally, go bad.

    On the Foodie blog roll, I notice you need 500,000 views a month; is that true? Seems like a lot

  6. International day of happiness, how wonderful. These look delicious. I love pears but it seems I keep buying them and letting them, unintentionally, go bad.

    On the Foodie blog roll, I notice you need 500,000 views a month; is that true? Seems like a lot; I wouldn’t even have that in a year, congrats.

Leave a Reply

