3 Things Thursday

Where did April go? Seriously. If anyone knows where it went, please let me know. Before I get distracted again and we end up in May, let me tell you about my favourite things this week. As you probably know, I joined this Blog Party last week, which is created & hosted by Salma at The Write Balance, Raj at Pink Chai Living and Nisha at Love Laugh Mirch

1. Elephants

A few years back, I went to Kenya and visited the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust – an Elephant Orphanage for baby elephants that have lost their parents due to poaching, which is pretty rampant over there. I was enthralled with how clever they were and how well the Trainers at the Trust bond with and take care of them. The Orphanage essentially runs on donations, and offers elephant adoptions, where you symbolically “adopt” an elephant and receive updates via email every month about their care and progress. My friends and I were in the process of deciding which elephant to adopt when a little one ran over to me and started tugging on the string of my jacket with her trunk. So Lesanju chose me. It’s been great to follow her progress and it spurred an affinity for elephants above all other animals.

Image
Action shot

When Rabin & I got married, we received about 7 elephant ornaments and a gorgeous elephant lamp. Elephants are also a symbol of good luck and prosperity and having a collection like that is very cool. Right now, I’m moving them out of storage to place throughout the house. Seeing these ornaments and visiting a Mandir last week that had the most beautiful carved marble elephant made me remember how awesome elephants are.

2. Motivation & the Environment

Earth Day was on Tuesday, so I used it as an opportunity to get motivated and commemorate the occasion by starting my garden and compost heap – two things I’ve wanted to do for a long time. We bought a sprinkler just like the one we had when I was a child and I got some garden tools and a new hose and spray nozzle. I’m pretty overwhelmed with all of the elements of starting the garden – the design and where to situate it in my yard, GMO / Pesticide free seeds and treatments, soil, acidity, and more importantly, the crops I want to start growing. If anyone has any advice to share, I’m all ears. Crap. I would like to grow ears of corn too :s

Image

I started my original herb garden about a year ago. I had bought the Jiffy Greenhouse Planting kit and diligently labeled, watered, provided sunlight to and even spoke to (yes, shut up) the herbs. Within a few days, I saw some sprouts and was so excited…until I woke up one morning and saw most of them shriveled up. I implored the remaining sprouts to stay strong! But alas…they all withered away :(. So in honour of earth day, I tried my hand at it again. I planted Basil, Oregano, Parsley & CIlantro. Wish me luck! The compost adventure is a whole other post so I’ll get to that soon enough.

Image

3. Fico Eataly World

I’ve dreamed of going to Italy & Greece for as long as I can remember, but it never ended up working out. I’m sure that I’ll go on my big European adventure one of these days, and I think the Universe has rewarded my patience and prioritizing by creating the most awesome destination idea ever. My heart (and stomach) jumped when I came across this link: http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2014/03/09/286939246/a-theme-park-for-foodies-italians-say-bologna

Yes. You read that right. There will be a foodie theme park opening in 2015 in Italy called Fico Eataly World. Don’t get me wrong, I plan to visit the family owned restaurants and artisanal markets and the provinces & regions where specific foods have originated from. But the thought of a “Disneyland of Food”? Come on, you just added whipped cream and hot fudge and sprinkles to huge bowl of ice cream I’ve been dreaming of.

 


 

 

So that’s my 3 things this week. Happy Almost Weekend! I’ll be co-hosting Fiesta Friday tomorrow with Prudy at Butter, Basil & Breadcrumbs, so be sure to stop by tomorrow and link your recipe!

One comment

  1. Love all of your 3 things! That’s so wonderful that you adopted an elephant. There are so many ways people can make a difference 🙂 And we’ve been doing some ‘green’ things for Earth Day & Earth week too! It can only make our lives better right? Thanks for linking up Indira!

Leave a Reply

