TTT: Beer, Friends & TV

Thursday already thankfully! As you probably know, I joined the Three Things Thursday Blog Party a few weeks ago, which is created & hosted by Salma at The Write Balance, Raj at Pink Chai Living and Nisha at Love Laugh Mirch
 
Game of Thrones Beer
I’ll be honest. I wasn’t into Game of Thrones at all when it first came out. I didn’t care about reading the books and I cared less about the show. But all the people around me instantly got obsessed with it, and included me in all sorts of GOT related stuff until I eventually fell into it. I can’t say I LOVE it, but I follow it on a broad scale, and can carry on a pretty good conversation about lots of elements and random facts about the show. Ask me about the Red Wedding, the Purple Wedding, the names of the main Kingdoms, or ask me to name Eddard’s children (Rob, Sansa, Bran, Arya & Jon Snow! Did I miss anyone?) and I can hold my own pretty well. I can totally make GOT references (ask Rabin about my “you know nothing, Rab Snow” joke) and whenever there’s a theme night or something, count me in. So even though I might not love a show, I’m never one to say no to a theme. I’m a sucker for TV tie-in products. I’m an Advertiser’s dream. Which brings me to this cool news bit – There’s a new Game of Thrones themed Beer called Valar Morghulis, the 4th beer in a collection created by HBO & Brewery Ommegang in New York. I would totally try all in the collection in case anyone wants to send for me and I’ll even throw a GOT theme night myself. While I’m at it, let me also register my interest in J.R. Ewing’s Special Edition Whiskey 🙂
Image 
 
Blogging Buddies
I am so very overdue here, but I’d just like to say thank you to Nancy at Feasting with Friends & Julianna at Foodie on Board for nominating me for two really great Blogging awards – the Dragon’s Loyalty Award & the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. You ladies are awesome! I apologize for not having enough time to actually write in depth about the awards, but please know that I deeply appreciate it and recognition like this makes me feel very happy about my little space on the internet and the wonderful people I’ve been able to meet.
ImageImage
  
Fall 2014 Pilots
Over the last two years, I’ve been depressed by a number of my favourite shows ending, and the slim pickings of new shows out there. This year is poised to totally make up for it. I have about 25 shows I want to check out (yep you read that right) and I’m finally ready to give up on shows I’ve held on to because I know it can be better but it refuses to reach its full potential – Revenge, anyone? I’m looking forward to seeing so many Office / 30 Rock  / SNL alums in different capacities in new shows (Steve Carell, Tina Fey, Rashida Jones, Ellie Kemper, Rainn Wilson, Will Ferrell, Craig Robinson, Will Forte, Maya Rudolph). I’m happy that 3 out of the 4 Happy Endings people that weren’t already cast in new shows are in pilots this fall, and that the Mother from HIMYM is in a show that looks like it won’t toy with me for 10 years and then break my heart. I’m also specifically looking forward to Gotham, Agent Carter, Hieroglyph, (not getting into my Egypt obsession right now), the Flash, the Emerald City miniseries and Red Band Society. Clearly, I don’t get out enough. But seriously. Anyone wanna plan a TV Pilot night? My siblings and Rabin did that a few years back – there we discovered Chuck (best and most underrated show ever) and Pushing Daisies, and suffered through Journeyman & that Geico Caveman comedy. The less said about that the better. Also if you haven’t figured out by now that I’m a TV junkie, well…if you have dreams of being a detective, you better find a new dream.
 
I really do intend to write short posts, I swear! See you guys tomorrow – I plan to regale you with stories of my epic breadmaking attempts (spoiler alert: I was reasonably successful) 🙂
6 comments

  1. Oh wow – I didn’t know there were so many promising shows on the horizon! Btw did you watch the last episode of revenge?

    • Yes! They managed to pull it together but I’m thinking of giving up the show…this last season felt too long and drawn out to me. Will give the new season premiere a chance in Sept and make a final decision lol. What did you think of it?

  2. Oh my goodness, you are a tv guru. I don’t keep up enough apparently, as I don’t even know half the shows you mentioned. I’ve read all the GOT books, but haven’t watched a single episode. It’s that fear of the show spoiling the books’ greatness, but as the major sitcom season is dying down, I may watch the show via Netflix for lack of other entertainment. The Mother’s got a show? I’ll have to check it out. Can’t wait to see your bread!

    • My husband has read them and he says that the show is WAY better than the books lol. He stopped halfway through Book 5 because he said they take too long when introducing the characters and then kill them off like right away lol. The Mother’s show is called ‘A to Z’. The trailer is out so let me know what you think of it!

  3. Revenge. I’m still hopeful – and I am completely addicted to Mad Men. I follow all sorts of blogs to winnow out all the references in the show. No spoilers please!!! Keep meaning to get into GOT but things get in the way!

    • Don’t worry, Selma. My lips are sealed! Spoilers irk me and i tend to always read them accidentally. I get teased a lot by my family – they say that there’s no such thing as reading spoilers accidentally and tell me i probably go to spoilers.com so its expected…but I really don’t! Certain blogs really ruin stuff for me. Don’t worry, I won’t be like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

