Avocado Chocolate Pudding w/ Toasted Nut Crumble

It’s been an absolutely crazy week (in a good way)! My Brother graduated from the University of Philadelphia last week (with a crazy amount of academic honours) and I’m the proudest sister ever. It’s also been a great chance to hang out with my family. More details on that next week, because although I have lots I want to share with you, I’m mortified at how long it’s been since I’ve posted a recipe, checked out any posts from my blog buddies, or replied to anyone’s comment on my post. I promise I’ll reply to each and every one of you soon. I missed Three Things Thursday AND Fiesta Friday and so I’ve brought some pudding & an apology (in case you missed it, that was my apology above!)

Feeling forgiving yet?
Feeling forgiving yet?

 

I am a very specific stress eater. I tend to see-saw between super sweet food and super salty food like fried chicken & fries. As I’ve aged, my tolerance for too much sweet food has reduced dramatically. I was the queen of chocolate cake and coke for breakfast but now just typing that makes my teeth hurt. I’ve abdicated my throne.

For a brief period in the 90s, I was under the impression that processed / sweet food could still be healthy food. I counted calories while living on those Quaker Oat Chewy Granola Bars (Peanut butter and chocolate chip was awesome – and oatmeal raisin made me feel extra healthy) and those Chocolate Pudding Snack Packs. The package did say it had milk in it! I’m quite delinquent when it comes to drinking milk. So how could I go wrong? Milk means calcium so game on! In my excitement, I would often overlook the fact that it had loads of sugar and fat and virtually no nutrients. But I fondly remember my days of scraping off that extra bit stuck on top of that foil wrapper and smugly thinking “man, I’m so healthy!”

Ah well, hindsight is 20/20 and now I’ve found a healthy, clean, vegan, gluten free way to eat pudding and actually feel good about eating more than your share!

So. Avocado. Cocoa powder. Milk. Agave / Honey. That’s it. You can go crazy and add your toppings. My topping today is a healthy spin on the traditional crumble – Flaxseed, Pistachios, Walnuts & Coconut. If you’ve been following my blog for a while you’d know that I’m pretty obsessed with these flavours.

Just to note – you still taste the avocado. It doesn’t miraculously transform into a sugary sweet dessert. But it’s sweet enough, it’s light and oh so good for you. What more could you ask for?

 

photo 2 (6)

Avocado Chocolate Pudding w/ Toasted Walnut & Pistachio Crumble

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Crumble:

2 tbsp Pistachio Nuts, shelled

2 tbsp Walnuts, shelled

2 tsp shredded Coconut

2 tsp ground Flaxseed

Pudding:

1 medium Avocado

1/2 cup Cocoa Powder

1/4 cup Almond Milk (or Soy Milk)

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

3 tbsp Agave Syrup (or Honey but this would mean non-vegan for some) – you can add more or reduce based on your personal preference.

Instructions

To make the crumble, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lay the nuts & coconut out on a baking sheet and toast for 7-10 minutes.  Watch carefully to make sure that the coconut especially does not burn. Remove from oven and cool. When cool, place nuts, coconut & ground flaxseed in a food processor & grind for about 15 seconds until roughly chopped.

photo 1 (4)photo 2 (5)

 

To make Pudding, Place all ingredients in food processor and blend until smooth. Add more agave if desired.

To eat, spoon pudding into bowls and add sprinkle desired amount of crumble mixture on top.

photo 3 (1)

I’m sure you’ve come across today’s recipe in some form or the other, especially if you’re a fan of healthy eating. Because avocados are so versatile, you can use them in a million different ways, and I am fascinated at its seamless transition between being a savory food to being a dessert.

 
Also, I planted an avocado tree. Please send good vibes my way because I have big dreams of this little plant blossoming into a big tree and will provide me with endless avocados and will help me make recipes like Avocado Chicken Soup, a vegetarian Sandwich, or an Avocado Cream Pie.

On an unrelated note, does anyone know of any anonymous Avocado addicts support group? I’m asking for a friend…

photo (3)

18 comments

  1. Definitely sounds like you’ve been busy 🙂 This recipe sounds delicious! Do you think you could make the crumble without toasting it first if your coconut was already toasted?

  2. With this delicious pudding you have, of course, we forgive you! 😀 Glad that you make it to FF17.

    Congrats to your brother. 🙂

  3. Must try this too! As far as an Avocado addicts group goes I am sure we can start one! Both my girls (including the 6 month old) love it too!

Leave a Reply

