TTT: World Cup, Wings & Beer

I’m back today with Three Things Thursday, hosted by Salma at The Write Balance, Raj from Pink Chai Living and Nisha from Love Laugh Mirch .

World Cup

Today’s post has sort of a theme to it. I’m not into sports at ALL but since my husband is a Football fanatic along with a few of our friends, I’ve been drawn into the excitement of World Cup. I can spout random facts about BPL football (did you know Arsenal opted not to sign Fabregas? Gasp! The horror!!) and on the World cup overall (Cote d’Ivoire is actually registered to play as the Ivory Coast, and could Ronaldo’s injury give weaker teams like the US a chance?!) Sigh. I’ll even be watching the Italy v England game with friends cause Rabin is going and I might see him in the crowd (although he’s not one of those hot woman that the cameras seem to always focus on so maybe not). I never have an opinion on these sports teams so I generally choose the underdog / least likely to win / potential Cinderella story. So I’m backing Iran it seems. Iran 2014! You heard it here first!

Wings
I don’t crunch chicken bones and eat the marrow and if the inside of meat looks too pink, I don’t eat it. So I generally despised chicken wings. Rabin jinxed me years back by telling me that I always drop food on myself, and ever since then I’ve dropped food on myself too many times to count. And no, I wasn’t always like that! The Jinx is real. When you add chicken with bones plus messy food together, you get wings.

Over the years though, I’ve come to appreciate wings and order them sometimes when I go out. I’ve even made them at home. My one caveat though? If I’m making wings, I refuse to fry them. I learned early on that frying food at home turns my stomach so much that I can’t eat afterwards. I know how much oil has gone into the food and that makes me think about clogging my arteries and pores and everything else. I’m fine with fried food at restaurants because I don’t actually see what goes into it. It’s kind of a double standard, but it’s my double standard :p

Lemon Pepper Wings - surprisingly good!
Lemon Pepper Wings – surprisingly good!

Anyway in honour of World Cup and sports food everywhere, I’m sharing my favourite non buffalo wing recipe with you – Baked Thai Green Curry Wings. You add a bit of butter for that junk food feel (although personally I would reduce the butter to about 1/2 – 3/4 of the stated amount). Recipes like these will satisfy traditional buffalo wing lovers and non wing lovers alike. I even replaced the green curry paste with red curry paste once and it was just as great and made it vaguely feel like I was eating butter chicken flavoured wings.

Beer

I was thinking about beer as my third thing, but I didn’t think it would be interesting to say “hey I love beer!” or “man I had a lot of beer this week” as one of my favourite things. Well the blogging powers that be heard about my dilemma and this mental floss link appeared in my inbox: the meaning behind the weird symbols on beer labels. I immediately got excited because I actually do wonder about certain label designs, but those discussions often happen during my first beer with friends and tend to get forgotten the next day. Mental Floss is awesome because they always seem to answer / explain things I always wanted to know but never thought to ask.

 

Why do I have so many random pics of beer? :s
Why do I have so many random pics of beer? :s

In terms of this beer article, I’m particularly taken with the Guinness harp one – I had no idea that it was the national symbol of Ireland or that a real one exists. That’s definitely on my list of places to check out whenever I take a trip to the Emerald Isle. Also, did anyone ever notice that face in the Dos Equis label? That Rolling Rock 33 mystery is awesome (unsolved mysteries are like a drug to me), and the Yuengling name makes a lot more sense now.

So during halftime or the boring parts of whatever sport you watch today, take a look at what you’re drinking and dazzle everyone with your random knowledge.

______________

So to all Football, Basketball (how can they call it the finals if there are potentially SEVEN GAMES stw), and Golf fans – whatever you watch, have fun, drink responsibly and eat well. Happy cheering!

5 comments

  1. I’m so looking forward to the world cup! 🙂 So I do love your first thing… 🙂 Today is the first game and I’m really excited. I love the atmosphere of those big sports event and football is a big thing here, so basically everyone watches it and is in a great mood.
    Of course beer is important when it comes to football, so perfect match! I will pass on the chicken wings though. 😀
    Thanks for sharing this, Indira. I hope you enjoy the match Italy vs England. 🙂

  2. I hear you on the wings – my husband loves them so I make the fried version and then can’t have more than one. sigh. will try yours for my fix 🙂

  3. Timely and perfect 3 things Thursday. Sports, beer and wings are such a natural trio. I’m in total agreement on the frying at home…yuck…stomach turning indeed.

  4. I am totally like you when it comes to sports and more of a bandwagon fan and underdog supporter 🙂 Love the wings recipe too, pinned it to try later. Hope you’re having an awesome week!

Leave a Reply

