Avocado Oil Vinaigrette & Quick Steamed Vegetables

How was your week? Mine was filled with a rainbow of feelings and let’s just say that I’m pretty emotionally wiped. Hug your loved ones, ok? Life is seriously the craziest thing.
 
Weird that I’m visiting you on a Monday afternoon, isn’t it? Today I’m making your Monday a little easier by sharing a healthy recipe that can be whipped up in literally 3 minutes.  
Spoiler alert! It's this.
Spoiler alert! It’s this.
 
The hook? Avocado Oil. Who knew there was such a thing? I had a Twitter follower mention Avocado oil to me and since then, I’ve been obsessed with it. Would it be green? Can I cook with it? Does it retain the healthy properties of regular avocado? Yes, yes and shocker! Yes. I bought a tin and it was a bit expensive, but this isn’t the kind of oil you cook with regularly. It’s high smoke point makes it tolerant to heat and ideal for cooking. The oil is not avocado green, but has the greeny-yellowy tint that olive oil can have. Avocado oil is made from the pressed fruit of the avocado and contains high levels of Vitamin E and has been compared to Olive Oil as heart healthy. It has been used to treat osteoarthritis, lower cholesterol, and retains the monosaturated fat element that regular avocados do. Research on the benefits continue, and so will my experimentation. 
Made with Repix (http://repix.it)
 
I figured that the best way to taste an oil was to make it into a vinaigrette. The vinegar cuts the sheer oiliness and adds that little bit of acid that brings everything together cohesively. I always prefer apple cider vinegar to white wine and red wine vinegar because it doesn’t overwhelm you and allows the other flavours to come through. Which is definitely a plus in this case.
Made with Repix (http://repix.it)
 
So what does one do with vinaigrette? Make salad, duh. This time though I decided to step it up a bit and actually toss it with some steamed vegetables. Whenever I smell steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, I’m reminded of my childhood in a good way. Specifically, I remember sitting at the dining table at my Grandma’s house with lots of people around me. Steamed veggies were a staple at any family event or holiday, and having lots of family around at the time guaranteed that this dish would make an appearance regularly.
 
Steaming vegetables can be a tricky thing. I know that generally, if you overcook a veggie, you tend to kill it’s nutrients and benefits. That of course gets me neurotic and I count the seconds or fly into a slight panic when I see the brightness of the veggies start to fade in the skillet. Cooking them in the microwave is actually a really easy way to steam without panicking and you can actually do other stuff in the meantime while it cooks (e.g. the vinaigrette!).   
 
 

Avocado Oil Vinaigrette & Quick Steamed Vegetables

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
 
Ingredients:
3 tbsp Avocado Oil
1 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
1/2 clove Garlic, grated
Zest of 1/2 Lemon
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Back Pepper
Pinch Red Pepper Flakes (optional)
 
1/4 – 1/3 head each Broccoli & Cauliflower florets
1 medium Carrot, diced
 
For the Vinaigrette:
Whisk all ingredients in a small bowl. 
 
To steam veggies:
Add Broccoli & Cauliflower florets and Carrot to a microwave safe dish. Add 1.5 tbsp water and cover tightly with a plate or lid. Microwave on High for 1 minute intervals until vegetables are tender. Microwaves will vary. Mine took 3 minutes. Take extreme care in handling the bowl & lid as it will get ridiculously hot and removal of lid will expose you to LOTS of steam, so be careful.
 
Tilt bowl carefully to drain excess water. Toss vegetables with Avocado Oil vinaigrette.
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
 
 
Expert tip: you can pair this vinaigrette with veggies that you’re not too fond of so they’ll be easier to eat. Plus you’ll be ingesting the hidden benefits of the oil which you can’t argue with.
 
My opinion? Avocado oil is great. With the lemon & salt, the flavor comes through beautifully and it actually does taste avocado-y. Quick dinner, side dish, or lazy day lunch. Even easier? Throw the uncooked veggies in a bowl, take to work and steam your veggies on site! Boom. Overcooking neuroses managed *drops mic* .
15 comments

  1. I’ve seen avocado oil but never ventured out to buy it. I like the idea of using it as a dressing. The veggies look amazing!

Leave a Reply

