Channa Saag-ish

Forget Superfoods for a second. Let’s think Supermeals. Spinach, Channa, Turmeric, Ginger, Yogurt & a touch of Olive oil are the main elements in this meal. All of these ingredients are well documented sources of nutrition and I’m so happy to share my recipe with you today.

photo

 

At the end of June, an eclectic group of us went to an Indian Restaurant for my Mom’s birthday, and I ordered the Channa (Chickpea) Saag with my go-to curry vehicle, Garlic Naan. I’ve had Paneer Saag before, which essentially is paneer cooked in a spinach puree. I generally actually prefer it to paneer in a tomato based curry. So I took a chance and ordered the Channa saag. It totally paid off. I enjoyed the chickpea saag immensely – it was wholesome and filling and not overly spiced.

So I decided to try it on my own.

Made with Repix (http://repix.it) Most indian recipes call for heavy cream. I approach heavy cream the way I approach fried food – I’ll never cook it because seeing it turns me off, but I’ll eat if someone else makes it and I don’t see how it’s prepared. Yes. Reality is fine until it’s inconvenient, ok?

I still wanted the creaminess in the dish, so I opted to add a little low-fat yogurt . I also used spinach that I had in my freezer, so there was enough stored liquid there to cook adequately.

Channa Saag-ish

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Channa Saag-ish

5 cups spinach, tightly packed

3/4 cup cooked chickpeas

1 clove garlic

1/2 large onion

1/2 tsp grated ginger

1 tsp garam masala

1/2 tsp cumin seeds

1/2 tsp turmeric

Red pepper flakes

3/4 tsp salt

3 tbsp. fat free yogurt

1/2 tbsp olive oil

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

Warm the oil in a pan. Add minced onion, & garlic and let cook until slightly browned. Add cumin seeds & ginger and toast briefly until fragrant. Add garam masala, turmeric, salt & red pepper flakes. Stir to combine and let cook for 30 seconds.

Add Spinach and stir to combine with mixture. Cover and let simmer for 1 minute. Uncover, add yogurt, and using an immersion blender (or regular blender), puree mixture. If you find it too dry or the yogurt makes things a gross colour, just add a bit of water. Made with Repix (http://repix.it) Add channa, stir and cover.

Let simmer for 2 minutes or until desired liquid consistency is achieved. Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

Serve with rice (brown, basmati or jasmine) or naan. Alternatively, stuff in pita bread and pack for lunch. Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

I actually put this together pretty quick. If you have frozen cooked channa (or in a tin, just make sure you wash it thoroughly), the hardest thing you have to do is mince the onions, garlic & ginger. I’m also bringing this to my Fiesta Friday crew. It feels like ages since I’ve properly chatted with the gals (and guys) so I can’t wait to visit all of you!

So Rabin’s verdict on the meal? “So delicious. It tastes very Greek.” :s …Andddd there you have it. I really can’t cook like an Indian even though I’m of Indian descent. So I present to you the first Greek/Indian curry. *Bows* Maybe I should run with it and open a restaurant? Opa Namaste has a cool ring to it, doesn’t it?

Update (September 18): I’m entering this recipe in the “A Taste of India on the Spice Trail” Contest hosted by Bangers & Mash . Wish me luck!

Check out the contest over at http://bangers-and-mash.com/2014/09/05/a-taste-of-india-on-the-spice-trail/ !
Check out the contest over at http://bangers-and-mash.com/2014/09/05/a-taste-of-india-on-the-spice-trail/ !
43 comments

  1. This looks so good!! I love spinach based Indian dishes, they are always delicious. And this does sound rather good to make.
    Of course it’s garlic naan that goes with it! It goes with everything! Have a great weekend, Indira! 🙂

    • Thanks Tina! I do love my naan even thought I’m too lazy to make it lol. I only got into the spinach thing a few years ago and now I eat it whenever I can. Would love any recipes you have using spinach. Hope you have a great weekend too!

  2. I love your Greek Indian fusion theme. Looks as if it works. You have given me some ideas for uses of my wild greens too – always nice to find inspiration at Fiesta Friday. Have a good weekend.

  3. Indira your channa saag looks delicious! Like you I dislike heavy cream too in my curry. Hence yoghurt was a great replacement! Thanks for bringing some Indian flair to Fiesta Friday with this lovely and wholesome dish! Happy Fiesta Friday! 🙂

    • Thanks Indu! I do like to eat indian food occasionally and the heavy cream and oil always turns me off. I’ll have to check out your recipe page for some inspiration as well!

  4. Hi Indira – co-host here to say thank you so much for bringing this to the party – I love channa and I love spinach so combined it’s the bomb! And so healthy too. I don’t deep fry or use cream but don’t mind eating either if someone else has made it! Opa Namaste – absolutely brilliant – go for it!! Happy Fiesta Friday!

    • 🙂 Thanks Selma! I always love finding people who have the same thoughts as I do on cream, oil, and all that unhealthy stuff. Thanks for co-hosting FF this week, you’re always so lovely! Opa Namaste does have such a great ring to it…will have to have a FF only night for sure! Lol

  5. Lol…Indira. Greek/Indian …you had me cracking up here! I would totally come to your restaurant!! This looks so delicious. I would do as you say: serve it with rice, or naan, or pack it in a pita. Yep. All at once! Love this. ❤ Awesome post.

    • Thank you, Prudy! 🙂 I don’t remember if I actually did comment on your post, but I loved your strawberry shortcake story…that one had me cracking up too! I think if I open a restaurant, I’ll definitely have a special FF night 🙂

  6. Yum, this looks amazing! I love channa saag, so will definitely have to try this one! Would you say this is more of a side dish or do you think I could make it work as a main?

    • Hey Michelle! Thanks :). I think it can work for either. I actually has it as a main course twice – once stuffed in pita bread and the other time I ate it with naan. Because its so simple as well, you can easily add this dish to a dinner party menu as a side too. Totally up to you!

  7. Two of my favourite dinner ingredients: chickpeas and spinach. Yum.

    To be honest, I’m also really interested in that app. What’s it called? I want a header like yours!

Leave a Reply

