Breakfast Biscuits

photo 1

I’ve become obsessed with cashew butter. It’s by far the best of all the butters – better than peanut, better than almond, better than jam! (Ok I may be embellishing cause I’m not a fan of jam and bread to begin with), but I’m not embellishing how much I love cashew butter. Its crazy.

My recent food dilemma has been what I should put the cashew butter on. The thought of it on bread is a little gross to me. I wanted something slightly sweet but tame enough to be breakfast-like and filling. Which made me think of Stefani’s Coffee Buttermilk Biscuits with Dark Chocolate Cinnamon Butter over at the Cupcake Project. I made these biscuits a while back and Rabin and I ate them nonstop until we felt vaguely nauseous but still wanted more. Instead of chocolate cinnamon butter, I used a mascarpone icing to top it because of a very scientific and technical reason – I had a lot of it in the fridge left over from a previous baking experiment.

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)
Attempt #1 using Stefani’s Recipe

The first time I made it, I followed the biscuit recipe exactly (steep the beans in butter! How genius!) but this time I wanted to finish it quickly because it was early evening and of course I left everything until the last minute and didn’t even start dinner and I was already hungry. 

Cropping can really save a gal from the embarrassment of having to explain why two biscuits are missing…

It’s hard to find snacks that aren’t granola bars, aren’t overly sweet, are healthy, and can be used for breakfast, and this is totally a keeper. In making this recipe, I decided to further healthify it a bit and switched out the all purpose flour for whole grain flour (with flaxseed).

I admit it. The fork is there solely for the picture. I usually devour this in 3 bites.
I admit it. The fork is there solely for the picture. I usually devour this in 3 bites.

Stefani’s recipe is pretty great as is, but you can check out my variation below. 

Breakfast Biscuits

  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

3/4 cup butter
2 1/4 cups Whole wheat / Multigrain flour
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 400 °F. Stir sugar, flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a bowl. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add buttermilk & vanilla and stir until clumps form. Knead mixture briefly – about 30 seconds. 

Transfer dough to floured counter and pat out until 1/2 to 3/4-inch thick. Use a round cookie cutter (I used a 2″) or shape of your choice and cut out dough. Place biscuits on a cookie sheet lined with foil or parchment paper. Bake for 12 minutes. Allow to cool and top with jam, jelly or butter of your choice.

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And yes. I know cashew butter isn’t pictured at all. It wasn’t because I was eating another biscuit loaded with it while I was taking these pictures… *averts eyes* *cough cough*

I’m bringing this to Angie’s Fiesta Friday Party as well.

So that’s it. I’m planning to whip up a batch of this on Sunday for the upcoming week and toss in some dark chocolate chips (That’s healthy, right?). I’m hoping that I can get my sh*t together this weekend and not stumble through another week like a drunk hobo. These biscuits are the first step! I hope. 

Have a great weekend, and also where the H-E-Double Hockey Sticks did this year go? For those of you that made resolutions, how has your progress been? I made some exciting progress on my Food Resolutions. I’m totally gonna update my page next week. I promise. 

33 comments

  1. I share your enthusiasm for cashew butter and for fresh biscuits as a yummy vehicle. I just might have to make some of these today because I am opening a jar of cinnamon ginger blueberry butter from my stash – maybe I’ll put a few chopped cashews on it just to give it that extra je ne sais quoi. Thanks for bringing these treats to Fiesta Friday.

  2. Well, so funny I just noticed at my regular run of the mill supermarket that the “Jif” brand makes a cashew butter . . . and I’m sure it’s filled with “bad” stuff and such, but I actually bought a jar and we went through it in two days! Now, more importantly, these biscuits are not only adorable, but seem quite healthy and delicious. Thank you for bringing!

    • I had no idea Jif made cashew butter – that’s awesome! I made mine from scratch, so if you want to try and and make it, it’s pretty simple and you of course will be able to control what you put inside. Thanks for kind words as well 🙂

  3. Heyy this is amazingg! I never tried cashew butter, but i love anything cashew. Must search for it in the supermarkets here. N the boscuits look very nice. Im sure it would be a superb combination.

  4. Love a breakfast biscuit! I have seen quite a few recipes with cashew butter but haven’t tried one yet but I can imagine the flavor it must bring..

Leave a Reply

