Goat Cheese Ravioli w/ Walnut Wine Sauce

I did it! I made ravioli from scratch! Scratch! As in I made the pasta from flour and eggs and ran it through my pasta maker and filled it and sealed it and cooked it and it was edible!
Hello, Beautiful.
Hello, Beautiful.
If you’ve been following me for a while, you’ll know that making Ravioli is one of my Food Resolutions for 2014. It’s safe to say that its been my most daunting task as well because I mean it’s pasta! From scratch! Ok I have to stop saying that. But seriously, it was awesome.
 
Ravioli has got to be the coolest pasta there is. These cute little squares filled with endless combinations of herbs, cheese, veggies or meats. You don’t need to eat as a side dish, its a meal in itself. And how do you cook it? You boil it for 8 minutes. That’s it. Regular pastas just give you the pasta. Ravioli has that extra surprise filling.
 
I don’t really see much Ravioli available in Guyana, so I was overcome with the desire to make my own. Because it freezes pretty well, I thought that it would be nice to spend a lazy Sunday once every 2 months making about 2 or 4 dozen (the recipe below gives you 24) and freezing for a rainy day, or for that day when you can barely drag yourself out of bed because you stayed up late watching TV the night before and just didn’t have a chance to cook. While I used specific tools and it’s a little labour intensive, making the recipe doesn’t dirty a lot of bowls, so you have a very easy cleanup afterwards. Alternatively, if you have your own method of making ravioli and are just here for the recipe, that’s cool too.
photo 3 (11)
 
This is an extremely picture heavy post, so be forewarned.
 

Goat Cheese Ravioli w/ Walnut Wine Sauce

Makes 24 Ravioli
 

Tools you need:
Kitchenaid Mixer w/ Dough hook
Pasta Roller Attachment
 
Pasta:
1 3/4 cup All Purpose Flour
2 large Eggs
1/4 tsp Salt
 
Filling:
1 1/2 cups Goat Cheese,
12 whole walnuts
Minced DriedThyme
Black pepper
 
Sauce:
6 tbsp. Walnut Oil
6 tbsp. White Wine
1 1/2 tsp Salt
1 1/2 tsp Black Pepper
Pinch of Red Pepper Flakes
________________________
 
Make Ravioli:
Combine the Flour & Salt in your mixer. Add the eggs and mix on medium speed until the dough starts to stick together and form a ball. Switch to your dough hook and let it knead the dough for about 2 minutes. You can add more (about 1/2 tsp at a time) flour or water (or even a little olive oil) if needed. Transfer to a lightly floured surface and knead by hand for a minute. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and let it rest for about half an hour before you roll it out. 
 
In the meantime, Cut each walnut into half. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spread walnuts in a pan and toast for 7-8 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

 
After the 30 minutes. separate the pasta into 4 parts and roll out slightly. Run the Pasta through the maker. Remember, what you put in is what you get out, so if you put in a misshapen blob, you’re not going to get the most evenly shaped or beautiful pasta. If the pasta starts to come apart, just add more flour.
Processed with Moldiv
You’ll see attempts 1-4… Do I get kudos for most improved?
 
Place one pasta sheet in the ravioli tray and press other tray on top of it to create indents in the pasta. Fill each indent with 1 tsp of the goat cheese, a walnut half & a pinch of thyme & black pepper. Place 2nd pasta sheet on top and press edges down. Remove from tray (this is delicate work) and use either a ravioli cutter or a regular knife to cut the sheets into ravioli squares, taking care not to cut into any filling. Use a fork to crimp each the edges of each piece together.
photo 1 (19)
 
 
 
photo 2 (19)
 
 
 
photo 4 (6)
 
photo 1 (17)
 
photo 3 (10)
  
photo 4 (5)
Make Sauce:
Heat Walnut (or olive oil) in a skillet. Add wine salt, pepper & flakes and cook until most of the wine has cooked off (when the bubbling has nearly stopped and the liquid has reduced).
__________________

To cook Ravioli immediately: Bring an extremely salted pot of water (like the ocean) to boil. Drop Ravioli in boiling water and boil for approximately 8 minutes. Remove, drizzle sauce on ravioli and enjoy.

 
To Freeze: Let pasta air-dry almost completely. Store in a freezer safe container, placing a sheet of wax / parchment paper between each layer of pasta.
 
photo 2 (18)
 
And that’s it! I also started coming up with different combinations and I cant wait to try each and every one of them. For now I’m bringing this one to Fiesta Friday
 
I’ll be working on another Food Resolution this weekend – eating 24 meals in 24 hours with Rabin & my siblings. It started out as a joke resolution by my brother in January and ended up being a challenge that nobody dared us to do. We’re also doing it partially to celebrate his birthday (although we’re very late!). Don’t worry, we have rules, and no food will be wasted nor will we eat to the point of gluttony. If you’re interested or want to silently laugh / judge / support us, follow me at @illcookyouwash on Twitter. My siblings and Rabin will also tweet from my account so you can witness our culinary ‘jackass’ style endeavour. Wish us luck!
 
69 comments

    • Thanks Josette! That was a huge worry for me as well…I noticed one or two bits float out when I cooked it, so I think I need to refine the sealing technique lol. Sorry yours had problems – did you eventually resolve it, or will you try again soon?

      • It took me a LONG time but I have had more recent success stories! 🙂 It’s a lot of work for a sad result though- it takes time to recover…

      • I totally agree with you. When a dish doesn’t come out nicely after such hard work, I tend to swear off making it ever again…until I’m ready to try again 🙂

  1. Good for you! They look perfect! hard to believe it’s your first try.

    But, I was caught off guard right there at the end. 24 meals in 24 hrs? Say whaaa?!? That’s awesome! Can I be a part of it? 🙂

    • Thanks Angie! 🙂 I’m pretty proud of it. And yes! You definitely can do 24 in 24! We welcome you with open arms and empty stomachs! 😀

      We got super meticulous and have been refining a spreadsheet with meals, times we’ll eat them, where we’ll get it from, and serving size! LOL…I’m also thinking that I’ll have lots of leftovers for the week as well so that’s an added bonus!

  2. Happy Happy Fiesta Friday Indira!! Oh my goodness…you made these ravioli as if you’ve been making them all your life! They’re so perfect…and such a sophisticated filling.. LOVE this! Thank you so much for bringing them to the table. I think I’m going to be making them very soon.
    Ah…hahaha!! 24 meals in 24 hours?? I’m so following you on Twitter to see this!! ❤

    • Happy FF, Prudy, and thanks for being such a lovely co-host! Thank you for the kind ravioli words too :), I’d love to know how your pasta turns out! Also, I totally welcome you to follow me…I need the moral support to eat that much! LOL

  3. How wonderful! These ravioli look great and nobody would know that you’re not a season ravioli-making pro! Thanks for bringing these to FF… we better get washing up then 😉

  4. Amazing recipe, Indira! I have never made pasta, so your recipe seems like a huge accomplishment to me. Just love the combo of goat cheese and walnuts ❤ ! I had no idea that you lived in Guyana! How wonderful! Also, very good luck with the 24 hour challenge – I'm in awe… 😀

  5. I’ve been eyeing this off for a few days. It looks so very good. And a great combination of ingredients too. Thanks so much for bringing it along. Happy Fiesta Friday.

  6. Wow how absolutely fancy and posh this looks and sounds!! I have never tried making ravioli before, so will definitely give this a go. Great job! Love goat cheese too 🙂

  7. Yum! I’ve always wanted to give making pasta a try – I’ve got a ravioli recipe in one of the books but always chickened out making it… I must do it before Christmas! 🙂

    • Thank you! It really wasn’t t bad. A bit labour intensive compared to most other things I cook, but I think it was worth it. If it works out maybe you can impress everyone and whip up a batch for Christmas dinner! 🙂

  8. I have to say, the thought of making my own pasta is daunting. You make it look easy (well do-able anyway)…I just might have to try this! So glad you linked it up with us at Foodie Fridays…it looks amazing!

  9. Kudos on the bread! I only tried the bread because of Angie’s FF Challenge, and I think that gave me enough confidence to try the ravioli. The benefit with pasta? No yeast! Lol

Leave a Reply

