Mushroom & Goat Cheese Quesadillas

The week before last I got so many compliments on my Goat Cheese Ravioli that I decided to strike again – this time with something much easier and less labour intensive. When you think of a quesadilla, I know that you think of a gooey, meaty mass topped with cheese and oozing out from between a white flour tortilla. You have your guacamole or pico de gallo or sour cream or all three on the side and by the end of the meal, your carefully composed plate has merged into a mess of colour and you’re pretty much too passed out from overeating to even care. I’m not judging you. Writing that actually made me crave one.

While I do love everything about a quesadilla, it’s the ultimate dysfunctional relationship – great at first, delicious and varied and perfect, but after a while, all you feel is over saturated, heavy, and filled with regret. You swear it off forever and ever until you crave it again. Sigh. Unless I’m eating quesadillas wrong? That overeating and bloated feeling inspired me to try to lighten and fancy it up a little. 

Processed with Rookie

Mushroom & Goat Cheese Quesadillas

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 15 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
Ingredients
2 Whole Wheat Tortilla wraps (10 inch)
2 cups fresh White Mushrooms, stems removed OR 1 8 oz tin canned mushrooms
2 tbsp. White Wine
1 large Onion, sliced
1 tbsp. Olive Oil
1/2 – 3/4 tsp Salt
3/4 tsp Black Pepper
1/2 tsp dried Thyme
1/4 – 1/2 tsp Red Pepper flakes
Goat Cheese
 
Instructions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Warm olive oil in skillet. Add sliced onions & saute until translucent. Add mushrooms (fresh or canned) along with salt, black pepper, red pepper flakes & thyme. If using fresh mushrooms, cook down until mushrooms have released their water. If using canned mushrooms, saute for 2-3 minutes. When almost all the liquid has absorbed, add the wine and cook until wine has evaporated. Add additional seasoning if desired.
Made with Repix (http://repix.it)
Spoon about half of the mushroom filling onto half of a tortilla. Sprinkle with Goat Cheese and fold in half. Warm in preheated oven for 5 -7 minutes. Remove and enjoy.
Made with Repix (http://repix.it)
 
Because time is a cruel, stingy thing, I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh. It wasn’t as fun to cook, but was nevertheless delicious.
 
I do like cooking with ingredients like white wine, mushrooms, onions and butter – the smell of these or a combination of these ingredients is ridiculously amazing. If I had to buy those scented Crayola markers at this age, I’d totally lobby for a wine, butter & onion scent! My favourite scent when I was younger was buttered popcorn…I spent a dangerous amount of time inhaling that. I think I liked it because it was the most realistic smelling scent.
 
Now I’m thinking about my ideal Crayola marker adult scents. I think I’d also lobby for rain, coffee, new book smell, dark chocolate, roasted nuts, peach, mango, freshly cut grass, & Davidoff Cool Water Cologne – that was the cologne of choice for certain boys during my High School days :). What would your ideal Crayola scents be? 
 
I’ll leave you today with that thought provoking question. Have a great weekend!
Made with Repix (http://repix.it)
14 comments

  1. Haha, my crayola scent would be maybe freshly baked bread?? Is that strange? Your quesadillas look really good, I also get food coma after the usual cheesy ones but yours look just right. Thank you for sharing the amazing goat cheese and mushrooms combination with fiesta Friday!! 🙂

  2. I’ve never actually had a quesadillas without chicken but those look so good, I’ll love sautéed onions & mushrooms and I love goat cheese so the combination should we amazing!

  3. I live in Mexico with my husband and he is Mexican food lover and he will love this mushroom or goat cheese combination also definitely. Love to cook for him this lovely dish. Thumbs up for your sharing Indira.

Leave a Reply

