Three Things Thursday: Visitors, Parties & Resolutions

It’s been a while since I linked up to 3 Things Thursday hosted by Salma at The Write Balance, Raj at Pink Chai Living and Nisha at Love Laugh Mirch,  so I’m visiting them today, and sharing 3 of my favourite things with you guys this week.

Visitors
I know you thought I was going to say people, right? Well, our side gate was left open the other day. As I was putting together my lunch, I heard a soft clanging and happened to glance out my window
and caught sight of some unusual visitors…

photo 2 (10)
Funny enough, this isn’t the first time animals have wandered into our yard. When we were first building our house and our gates weren’t put in as yet, we were paid a visit by four horses. I started to hop around, freaking out that this might be the four horsemen of the apocalypse (too much Sleepy Hollow for me), but eventually abandoned that idea and started thinking about how cool it would be to have a pet horse, and then settled on the possibility that I have crazy animal whisperer skills.

Another bit of evidence? There’s a stray dog in the area that seems to have adopted us. Rabin has named her Andy Griffith without my consent. She is semi-psychic because she always seems to know which gate we’re coming out of, and is so ridiculously well behaved. The other day my sister was at the gate and when we looked out, Andy was in the driveway sitting right behind her waiting to be let in too! Another day I opened the gate and Andy appeared from nowhere, walking in as if she owned the place! She actually looked offended when I instinctively closed the gate.

photo 3 (8)
Christmas & other end of year events
I really do like the end of the year. Let’s ignore our resolution failures and the panic that comes with it for a second. September – December always has some of the best parts of the year all rolled into one. Apart from the premiere of returning and new TV shows, Rabin, my sister and I all celebrate birthdays during this period (I’m hitting the big 30 this year), there’s Diwali and the utter magic and joy that is Christmas, and New Year celebrations. Guyana has even recently picked up on celebrating Halloween and Thanksgiving so there’s always a party or event or something to look forward to.

Everything feels different now that I’m in a new place, and I actually have different plans for all of these different events this year. It’ll be lots of work, but I’m indulging my inner hostess (and dragging Rabin along for the ride) and finally making use of all my beautiful entertainment related wedding gifts. Friends and family, you’ve been warned!

Palate Evolution
The most perfect meal in the world is Cheese & Crackers. I have been obsessed with it since I was a child and although I occasionally switch out the crackers for toast, there’s something infinitely perfect about biting into a crisp, crumbly cracker adorned with a slice of salty cheddar cheese. Man. That stuff is addictive. My siblings and Rabin know that I have a special song for Cheese and crackers and no, we’re not a musical family nor do I have the voice of an angel. I just make up songs a lot.

Where was I going with this? Oh right. So yes. As I got older, I started to get heartburn after I ate C&C, especially at night. I branched out a little more and started to try other types of cheese. Apart from sharp Cheddar & Edam, my favourites so far are Muenster, Brie & Pepperjack although I respect what Mozzarella, Ricotta, Parmesan, American & Swiss bring to the table. I could never see myself liking Goat Cheese or Feta, but I thought that maybe I haven’t given them a fair enough chance.

Cue the Food Resolution & cheese immersion. I didn’t actually immerse myself in cheese, that’s disgusting. But I decided that I’d put aside my reservations and try Goat cheese in a number of different forms. I wouldn’t try it once or twice, but would try it in a number of different recipes to give it a fair chance. If you’ve been following this blog, you’ll see that I made GC Ravioli in a Walnut Wine Sauce, GC Quesadillas and GC Crostini with thyme & caramelized onions recently. I’ve also used it in a few other recipes I found online and it turned out pretty well. I actually don’t hate the regular GC, but I could do without the flavoured ones. I tried the Honeyed GC and one with Peppercorns, and they ranged from ‘meh’ to ‘spit it out disgusting’.

Processed with Moldiv

Apart from the recipes I created, I found some recipes online including Pearl Cous Cous with Roasty Roots, and stuffed Chicken Breasts with Pepperoncini & GC and both were pretty delicious. So yes, I’m surprised that I like regular GC, and while I won’t cook with it regularly, I wouldn’t shy away from it in a dish. One more thing? I don’t actually like it on crackers. That’s definitely reserved for cheddar.

photo 3 (9)

_________________

So that’s my three this week! See you here tomorrow for another original recipe!

3 comments

  1. Yay! Glad to have you visiting #3ThingsThursday again and sharing your favourite things. One, I can totally see you being an animal whisperer 🙂 Two, love the holiday season! And three, omg, I seriously love cheese and crackers and could eat it everyday. Happy Thurday.

Leave a Reply

