Roasted Garlic & Broccoli Stuffed Potatoes

Processed with Rookie

Quick. You’re stuck on a desert island and discover a hatch that leads you to a kitchen and only one food item provided by the Dharma Initiative. What is it? (Happy 10th Anniversary of the premiere of Lost and my lust-iversary of Sawyer btw). My food choice would be potatoes. I LOVE potatoes in every form – fries, baked potatoes, mashed potatoes, scalloped potatoes, potato chips, latkes, hash browns, potato soup, tater tots…(and yes, I’m aware that I sound like Bubba from Forrest Gump… BBQ shrimp, baked shrimp, broiled shrimp…)

Anyway. So now that you’ve gotten your random pop culture fill for the day, I’m sharing a recipe I put together – Roasted Garlic & Broccoli Stuffed Potatoes.

photo 1 (16)

Roasted Garlic & Broccoli Stuffed Potatoes

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy-ish
  • Print

Ingredients

5 Small – Medium Potatoes
1 head Garlic
1/2 cup Broccoli

2 tbsp Butter
1/3 cup grated Cheese of your choice (I used a mix of mild and sharp Cheddar)
1/4 tsp Black Pepper
1/2 tsp Salt or more to taste
1/8 tsp Red Pepper Flakes

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Roast garlic in the oven or on the stove. I’ve previously described 2 ways to roast garlic so take a look and see which fits your time budget. If you’re roasting in the oven, put the garlic in first so that you can prep the other ingredients in the meantime. Quick summary of oven roasting: cut top off the head of garlic, drizzle with olive oil, put in foil packet, bake at 400 degrees for 30-40 minutes.

photo 1 (15)

Scrub the whole potatoes, poke a few holes around it with a fork and boil for about 20 minutes until soft but not mushy. Drain and let cool. Carefully cut potatoes in half and scoop out flesh, being careful not to pierce through the potato.

photo 2 (17)
Ok. I admit it. I poked through the potatoes a few times. I probably should have let it cool a bit more first before I started scooping…

Mince broccoli in a food processor. Transfer to a bowl and mash with garlic, potato flesh, salt & peppers. Refill potatoes with mixture. Top with grated cheese.

photo 3 (17)

photo 5 (6)

Bake in preheated oven for 10- 15 minutes until cheese is melted and potato edges are slightly crispy.

photo 5 (7)

Yep, this is a pretty picture heavy post. Maybe I’m making up for Wednesday’s Vegetable Stock post, or maybe I was just happy with the way the pictures turned out. Whatever it is, there you have it. Don’t say I never gave you anything.

Have a great weekend!

31 comments

  1. Oh I am so making these! I love stuffed potatoes and I haven’t made them in forever! I’m excited. I pretty much love potatoes any way you make them too! This is going on the dinner menu soon! Thanks so much for sharing it with us at Foodie Fridays!

    • Thank you! I’m usually too lazy to make stuffed potatoes and hope people make it for me but when inspiration hit, I just had to try it lol. I hope you try this and let me know how it turns out!

    • Thanks Mandi! I’ve been trying to find additional uses for roasted garlic and I’m happy that it works in this recipe. If you have any favourite roasted garlic recipes, feel free to share! 🙂

Leave a Reply

