Cookies & Cream Rice Krispie Treats

Processed with Rookie

I am so disappointed. Yesterday I went and bought a slice of Tiramisu and had my Friday afternoon all planned: Cake, a cup of coffee and a whole afternoon to make a serious dent in my Gilmore Girls re-watch marathon that I was forced to abandon because of a little thing called work. I love that show. Do I say that I love too many shows by the way? Because I feel like I do and as a friend so wisely pointed out to me, saying it too many times for too many things diminishes the value of the word. I can get on board with that. But I do love Gilmore girls and I do love tiramisu.

So I came home, put on the TV, got into my comfy pjs, got out the fancy fork (I do spoil myself) and threw myself into the most comfortable chair in the house. I felt utterly luxurious and took a bite of the cake….and sighed. Not the satisfied kind of sigh that only a perfect dessert can elicit, but the kind of sigh that is the result of extreme disappointment. The tiramisu was terrible! I would use more explicit language and those of you that know me well will know that I usually do, but this is a family site (although I cannot confirm to you how long that will stay on). So suffice it to say it was terrible. It sucked. It was spoiled or too salty or old or kept in the fridge too long or something, and whatever it was, it was inedible. What a letdown.

Naturally, when Rabin came home, I made him try it (I was NOT suffering alone!). He confirmed that it was in fact spoiled. So I have three bites of spoiled tiramisu in my stomach – the first for obvious reasons, the second because I wasn’t sure if the first was just a bad piece, and the third because I really just wanted to make sure. If I die of food poisoning, well, it’s been nice knowing you all.
Which got me thinking. Not to be a jerk or anything but I really do prefer the stuff I make. At least I know what goes into it and I know how fresh it is. I can reduce the sugar or add chocolate chips and the baking itself is pretty therapeutic. The only sucky thing about it is that cravings don’t necessarily coincide with my energy level to measure ingredients and mix and bake for 30 minutes. Plus, as this blog name suggests, washing up afterwards isn’t really my favourite thing.

Then I thought about Rice Krispie Squares I made the other day. Quick to make, super simple, and very few ingredients. What did I do that was so different? I turned them into Cookies & Cream Rice Krispie Squares! Powerful stuff. I’ve already said before that I dislike Oreos but adore Oreo related products and this was no exception.

photo 1 (19)

Cookies & Cream Rice Krispie Treats

  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients

25 -30 large Marshmallows
3 Cups Rice Krispies
2 Tbsp Butter
12 Oreos (makes 1 cup ground)

Instructions

Spray a 7×7 pan with nonstick spray. Pulse Oreos to coarse crumbs in a food processor. This should make approximately 1 cup. Combine Rice Krispies with Oreos.

Processed with Moldiv

Processed with Moldiv
Melt butter in a saucepan on medium heat and add marshmallows. Stir to combine with butter and continue to stir until the marshmallows have melted (see pictures).

Add rice/cookie mixture to the pan and stir immediately until combined with marshmallows and the mixture appears sticky. Transfer to the prepared pan immediately and use a spatula to smooth the mixture evenly.

Allow to cool. Cut into squares and enjoy!

photo 3 (19)

photo 2 (20)
An added bonus is that the smell of melted marshmallows is absolutely heavenly. So the scent kinda gets you excited before you even take your first bite. The difference between this and the store bought squares is obviously the Oreo element, but apart from that, the homemade one is a lot more compact and not as sweet (in my opinion).

photo 3 (20)

So there it is. The perfect replacement for a crappy dessert. Now to continue to indulge my fantasy of living in Stars Hollow. When Gilmore Girls was actually on TV, I was told on a number of occasions by different people that I spoke like the girls on that show, which I took as a compliment. Also being compared to Alyson Hannigan in American Pie (“One time, at band camp…”) ? Not so much.

18 comments

  1. This is a brilliant dessert, Indira! So happy you could bring this to FF today! Too bad about the tiramisu. I am realizing more and more that homemade is just always so much better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

