Breakfast for Dinner: Whole Wheat Chocolate Espresso Pancakes

Processed with Rookie

Making pancakes is seriously an art. How do people get them so neat and round and fluffy? How do they know how much batter to put in the pan? Do they manually spread out the batter or does it just bloom out into a perfect shape? I suppose it’s a craft you hone over time and I hope that one day, I’ll have that magical power of making perfect pancakes. The other night, I felt a super strong pull toward pancakes, and I didn’t care whether they turned out ugly or not.

photo 5 (13)
This is a…pancake top? It’s the muffin top’s bff

So I decided: Breakfast for dinner! It’s one of the most fantastic indulgences, and is a type of comfort food in it’s own right. The fact that I was too lazy to go thaw meat or make anything too complicated had virtually zero to do with my dinner decision, so you can lower that raised eyebrow, okay?

I settled on whole wheat chocolate espresso pancakes because I’m a complicated gal. To me, it’s simple though: whole wheat because it’s a better alternative to white flour, chocolate which will help manage my chocolate cake cravings and reduce the amount of sugar I’d normally have to add, and espresso powder because I’m a coffee freak and I thought it would add more depth to the flavour.

I’ve also been trying to figure out a way to use espresso powder successfully in a recipe. I’ve had a few failures (maybe I should do a blooper reel post) but I’m happy to report it worked very well in this. I really just want espresso to like me. A while back, when a cafe in my town opened, I went there with some friends to check it out. I ordered an espresso, and was met with a condescending stare by the waitress who then said “You want an eXpresso? You know what that is?”. She eventually served me lukewarm espresso with another withering stare. Customer service has improved since then, but anytime I see anything espresso related, I pronounce it “expresso” in my mind (and you would not believe how many times I spelled it wrong in this post) and remember the day I was coffee-shamed (like slut-shaming but for caffeine addicts).

Whole Wheat Chocolate Espresso Pancakes

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup Cocoa Powder (unsweetened)

2 tbsp Brown Sugar

1/2 tsp Espresso Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

1 cup Almond Milk

1 Egg

2 tbsp melted Butter

Instructions:

In a medium sized bowl, mix together all dry ingredients until fully combined. In a smaller bowl, whisk wet ingredients together. Pour over dry ingredients and mix until just combined – do not over mix.

What is this, a mason jar convention?
What is this, a mason jar convention?

Processed with Moldiv

Spray a bit of nonstick cooking spray in a pan and heat up. Pour about 1/4 cup of batter and cook until the surface starts to bubble slightly and the edges are cooked, about 1-2 minutes. Flip pancake and cook for another minute. Repeat with remaining batter.

Top with whipped cream, syrup, or fruit of your choice. Or top with nothing at all.

photo 2 (25)

The result of not waiting until the pancakes cool off a little before you top with whipped cream...
The result of not waiting until the pancakes cool off a little before you top with whipped cream…

These pancakes are pretty filling. I ended up scraping off all the whipped cream and truth be told, I didn’t need the syrup. It would have been perfectly delicious plain.

So happy almost Friday, have a great weekend and I’ll see you back here next week!

photo 3 (24)

9 comments

  1. It looks to me as if you have mastered the art of pancake making, and making interesting pancake recipes. Your story about the eXpresso gave me my first chuckle of the morning.

  2. We have a bus service here called the expresso (like your coffee), and I have to constantly be careful to use the right word so it isn’t coffee. Your rude waitress should catch our bus.

    Love the idea of coffee-chocolate pancakes, too. Happy FF.

Leave a Reply

