Greek Week Roundup

You know when you’re small and the standard way to get to know somebody is to ask “what’s your favourite colour?” I’d always have my answer ready and prepared although the colour changed over the years. It was always purple (I think it had to do with the fact that my bedroom in our new house at the time was purple), but progressed to magenta and then it was turquoise for a very long time until it changed to a burnt orange. In recent years, I’ve found myself leaning towards a kelly green and gray. Until I realized that it’s okay to love the rainbow equally.

I was confronted with the food equivalent of this question a while back. A friend introduced me to someone and said that I have my own blog, and the person responded with “oh, what kind of food do you like?” I was kind of taken aback because I haven’t thought about that in a really long time. I can’t eat Indian food on a regular basis because I’m pretty close to my life quota of indian food, and although I love Chinese food, I get tired of it pretty quickly (I once ate 3 Chinese meals in a row (including breakfast) and the thought of it a 4th time in a row made me incredibly cranky and upset. A friend and I even have a running joke about that – me: “Chinese for lunch?” Friend: “$^@&!”).

There are some types of cuisine that I love the idea of, but in reality I am not a fan of the core ingredient. For example, Thai food? Yay! Fish or excessive amounts of coconut milk? Not so much. Italian food? You can’t go wrong with spaghetti or lasagna….unless you have it with tomato sauce more than once in a row because then your senses feel totally clogged. Ditto with Mexican food.

Maybe I’m just overly picky or my selective OCD runs on overdrive when it comes to food. I can’t eat one thing every day for the rest of my life (except maybe cheese and crackers) because there’s too much good food out there. I can however, keep trying new things and adding to my list of favourite meals.

I’ve more or less settled on Mediterranean cuisine as my favourite food type. In a stroke of inspiration (or self destruction?) the other day, I picked up feta at the supermarket. For the record, I don’t like feta or most kinds of stinky cheese. But after the Goat cheese success, I figured what the hell.

I realized I had lots of lemon and garlic, red onions, pita bread, tomatoes, eggplant, cucumbers, yogurt and a variety pack of greek seasoning when I got home so I took it as a sign.

So below you’ll find some recipes I used. I adhered relatively loosely to the recipes but generally I give my stamp of approval to them all.

Greek Chicken Tacos with Whipped Feta – Krafted Koch

photo 2 (24) photo 1 (22)

Spinach & Feta Stuffed Chicken – Rachael Ray

photo 3 (23) photo 4 (18)

Whipped Feta – The Kitchn

photo 1 (21)

Chilled Black Bean & Corn Salad w/ Feta

photo 4 (19)
My first mason jar salad!

Greek Style Lentil & Eggplant Bake – MediterrAsian

So there you have it – enough recipes to last you through a tub of feta and almost a week of food. You’re welcome!

 

Leave a Reply

