Oven Baked Truffle Fries

Processed with Rookie

The Christmas season is upon us! December 1st brought out the spirit in lots of my friends and not only did I manage to have lunch, afternoon and late night cocktails, I finally saw Mockingjay and wrote out a good set of Christmas cards. Yes, Rabin and I are trying to be respectable adults this year and send out physical Christmas cards. How great is it to receive actual mail?

Anyway so with the Christmas spirit floating around, I know I’ll be inclined to indulge in the other type of spirits. Ok. Fine! I’ve already indulged. Many times. This has led to the inevitable wake up call to my stomach which in turn, starts yelling for the best food ever – french fries.

I love fries. It’s my go-to food, and quite often I choose it when there are perfectly wonderful other options. In fact, I had fries for lunch today. It’s perfect bar food too – Its filling and soaks up the alcohol and the salt in the fries followed by a sip of beer is indescribable.

photo 3 (35)

While I love fries in their pristine original form (hot and salty and crispy) and don’t need anything else, I also love the associated condiments – ketchup, mustard, bbq sauce, pepper, etc. Add garlic powder or cajun seasoning or cumin or cilantro or black pepper or basil and I’m still a happy gal.

Also, oven baked fries have their own merits. Although they take longer to bake than to fry, they tend to crisp up in a way regular fries can’t and it may just be my mind playing tricks on me, but I tend to fill up faster on oven fries. Plus I have a strict “Indi does not deep-fry food” policy at my house.

If you’re not a beer person and prefer wine, then this is the recipe for you. I mean I’m not going to be a jerk and tell you what to drink with your meal, but this meal feels like classy comfort food and I just feel like if you’re going to treat yourself, then go all out. I mean, what screams luxury louder than truffles? I’m not talking about chocolate truffles, but the earthy, mushroom-y truffles that fancy chefs go on about in all the best restaurants.

Truffle oil has an earthy, distinct flavor. It actually did make me think of potatoes when I smelled it first so I kinda think that they’re made for each other. Maybe they were subsurface best friends until potatoes became a widely used food and they broke up because of jealousy, but then truffles found favour with the foodie community and they made up. Now they’re back together in this meal. I’m totally a matchmaker.

Also, I should probably stop sniffing random oils.

photo 1 (34)

Oven Baked Truffle Fries

  • Servings: 2-4
  • Time: 1hr 20mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

3 Medium Potatoes, scrubbed

1 tbsp + 1 tsp Black Truffle Oil

2 tbsp Olive Oil

1 tsp Salt (or to taste)

1/2 tsp Black Pepper

1/2 tsp Red Pepper Flakes

Parmesan Cheese, for serving (optional)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 420 degrees. Cut scrubbed potatoes into 3/4 inch think wedges. Rinse for a minute in cold water and pat dry with a paper towel.

photo 3 (33)

Transfer to a foil-lined baker’s half sheet (13 x 18 inches). Drizzle both oils over the potatoes and sprinkle salt and peppers. Using your hands or a spatula, make sure that the potatoes are coated evenly with the oils & seasoning.

photo 4 (27)

Transfer to oven and bake for 40 minutes. Remove from oven, flip the fries to the other side and return to oven. Bake for about 30-35 minutes, depending on how crispy you want your fries.

Remove from oven and serve immediately. You may sprinkle with parmesan cheese or drizzle with more truffle oil if you’d prefer, but I think less is more when it comes to truffle oil.

photo 1 (35)

Fries, I love you no matter what. Until you get cold. Then you’re just soggy and sad and gross.

Hope that you guys are enjoying the holidays. It’s been a festive month so far and I have a lot of food related projects lined up this month (Cookie plates! A BBQ! A scavenger hunt! An ice cream social!) so check out my Instagram for regular updates. Or just wait and I’ll likely end up talking about it in my next post. I’m chatty that way in case you haven’t noticed.

Whatever you plan to do this weekend, have fun and I’ll see you back here next week!

17 comments

  1. I love fries too and I’ve got some truffle oil in my olive oil and vinegar cabinet. I have issues, I know. I have a whole cabinet of oils and vinegars. I’m making these! They look delicious! Pinning and yumming them! Thanks for joining us at Foodie Fridays…this was the first link I opened and I was excited to see them!

    • Thanks Michelle! Lol if you have Issues, I have issues too… What started out as one shelf of oils and vinegars ended up becoming an entire cabinet! I’d like to find more ways to use the nut oils so will be experimenting with that soon.

  2. My husband and I very recently tried truffle fries for the first time and there were delicious! I never thought about making them myself though. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  3. You really made me laugh with this post – I always feel weird when I’m doing that in front of my computer…
    I watched Mockingjay yesterday as well, finally got around. 🙂
    As I love fries as well and I like beer just as much as wine, I feel like this is definitely a recipe I should try. I never made fries myself and I also don’t like to deepfry anything – made wontons once and they were delish, but everything smells like a pub afterwards..
    We still have truffle salt, which would do the trick as well I gues.. Definitely on my to do list for December. It’s also a nice break from all the Christmas preparations.. 🙂
    Have a lovely weekend and happy FF.

    • Happy FF! I always smile when someone tells me I made them laugh… I’m no comedienne but I take it as a huge compliment that I could make someone laugh. Truffle salt should work, maybe it won’t be as pronounced as the oil but it would probably be a good way to try the taste before you invest in a bottle of oil. I have wild porcini sea salt and now you have me thinking about usingn that with fries 🙂

  4. What a creative way to “spice up” your fries with truffle oil. Never would have thought of that but I know they must be good. I never met fries I did not like unless they were too greasy and deep-fried! Mine are always oven-baked like yours. Thanks for sharing with the party goers at FF #46 a new version of one of my favorite comfort foods 🙂

  5. Haha!! Indira my love, you can tell me what to drink with my fries anytime. These fries… well…they’re fabulous.
    Do you know that I haven’t watched any of the movies? I read the books about two years ago…and I’ve been avoiding the movies, because I’m so afraid of being disappointed…and…I don’t want to cry. I know. I know what’s going to happen…but I just don’t want to cry. 🙂 Maybe one of these days I will. (watch the movies…not cry)
    Awesome post… wonderful recipe…. lovely you. ❤ I hope all is well..

    • Aww thanks Prudy! The first movie isn’t perfect but I feel that the second movie does justice to the book. Can’t wait to see the final one though… The third provided a good setup. I hope you do watch the movies, I’m so happy I watched the Harry Potter movies even though I was really afraid it wouldn’t do justice to the book. Now all 8 are my favourite all time comfort movies lol

Leave a Reply

