Sauteed Spinach, Bacon & Mushrooms + Odds & Ends

Processed with Rookie

So we’re all in countdown mode. My brother has been singing that “its the final countdown” for almost any reason recently and it’s been stuck in my head. I’m singing it right now. I’m sure he’ll start singing it if he reads this post. Sigh. So back to the season. Are you panicking about shopping yet? Or are you quite smugly looking at your pile of Christmas gifts for friends and family? I’m honestly sick of Christmas carols and it feels like my tree has been up forever.

photo 3 (40)

I really haven’t gotten as much time to cook this month. Rabin’s birthday was last weekend so we had some friends over and I took on the task of setting up a DIY taco bar. I personally don’t feel that tacos are that hard, but the prep is what kills you. To pair with the soft tacos and hard shells, we had chicken, a black bean & corn hash, cilantro lime rice, fresh pico de gallo, kidney beans, lettuce, green, red, orange & yellow bell peppers, regular salsa, salsa verde, cheese, melted cheese, and sour cream. And Yes, Guacamole was extra.

We also ordered pizza in case people didn’t want to work that much at assembling their meal at a party. I do love feeding people though. A friend stumbled into the kitchen at one point on the verge of a food coma and said “stop feeding me…I fed up eat…” and then proceeded to make himself another taco. Another friend was devastated that he lost count of how many tacos he consumed because he wanted to boast about how many he had eaten even though he wasn’t that hungry. Ah, Christmas. Never a dull moment!


photo (15)

Apart from baking my cookie plates last week, I baked a birthday cake for Rabin – a double layer candied pecan cake with brown butter pears and whiskey icing. Thanks Martha! My icing came out a bit runny so I can’t say the cake was the belle of the ball, but it tasted pretty damn good. The recipe is here in case you’d like to give it a whirl, and you can check out the picture on my Instagram. Apart from the cake and cookie plates last week, I haven’t done that much baking…I’ve been content to drool over the fabulous works of art created by my blog friends. You guys are ridiculously skilled!

Today I’m sharing a simple veggie and turkey bacon hash that you can whip up on Christmas morning. It’s quick, simple, filling, and sets the stomach up nicely for all the eggnog and wine and champagne you’ll likely have over the next few days. It’s also a wonderful side dish and can easily be eaten for lunch or dinner as well.

photo 1 (41)

Sauteed Spinach, Bacon & Mushrooms

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

3 slices Turkey Bacon, diced

4 cups Spinach

1 medium Tomato or 2 small Tomatoes, chopped

1 ½ cup fresh Mushrooms, sliced (or ¾ cup canned Mushrooms)

2 cloves Garlic, minced

¼ tsp – ½ Salt

¼ tsp Black pepper

¼ tsp Red Pepper Flakes

Instructions

Cook bacon in a non-stick skillet on medium heat. As the bacon fat is released into the pan, add garlic and cook until lightly browned. Add mushrooms, tomatoes & seasoning. Cook until all water is released and the mushrooms are nicely browned. Finally, add Spinach and cook for about 1-2 minutes until wilted.

Processed with Moldiv

photo 2 (42)

So enjoy your Holiday, be it Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa or Festivus (this does not indicate that I like Seinfeld. I despise that show). Bring out those pants with the stretchy waistband, enjoy the disgustingly poignant technicolour Christmas classics like A Christmas Story and Miracle on 34th Street, start or continue family traditions and pretty much just have a memorable holiday. I’ll see you back here on Saturday as I begin to panic over my unfinished Food Resolution list and reveal my 2015 Resolution list. It says a lot about a person when they schedule time to panic, huh?

22 comments

  1. Your stir fry sounds delicious. Simple and quick. The Holidays have run over me literally I feel like I’ve been hit by a train. I know how you feel, it has been unusually busy for me. I think your taco spread is great, everyone can grab what they want and all the fixings look so good.

    • Thank you! Right now I’m sick of tacos and anything related to it… My fridge is full of lettuce and I have no idea what to do about it :s. Lol hit by a train is a perfect description!

    • Hi Julie! Thanks so much for the kind words. I really have gotten into being the hostess…it’s stressful and can be a lot of work, but it is fun. Plus I always love cooking. I noticed your name and if you ever have any hostessing tips, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

