Broccoli & White Bean Dip and jumping on the Resolution train (sort of)

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Aren’t resolutions funny? We make all these life altering promises to ourselves on December 31 and allow ourselves one last hurrah on New Year’s to indulge. A few hours later, we go into strict military mode as if our bodies will forget that we were just doing all sorts of destructive things to it. No carbs, no fats, no gluten, no anything. To be honest, I’m falling for it as well this year. Rabin & I are going vegan for a month in January. We did the Vegetarian thing this year, and we planned to try the Vegan month sometime in 2015 but then I came across Veganuary, a international movement that encourages people to go vegan for the month. And don’t ask me how to pronounce it. I have no idea. Since a challenge is always made easier with support (local or international), we decided that there’s no time like the present!

So we’ve spent the better part of this week eating endless omelets. Why, you ask? I was running late one day and asked a friend to pick up some eggs so that I could finish my Christmas baking. I said I’d only need about 6 eggs, and I was presented with a tray of…wait for it…24. So eggs-iting.  I’m about halfway through the tray though and will likely be giving away the rest if we do have leftovers (so place your egg orders now!). We’ve invited family over for New Year’s Dinner before we decided to do Veganuary so I’ll be modifying the menu slightly although we’ll still have some meat for my siblings. Who will call me all sorts of names if I mess with their meat. I’ll do a roundup on Friday with the dishes I served.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Today I’m sharing a Broccoli & White Bean dip with you in case you’d like to start your ‘eating healthier’ resolution a bit early. This works for any meal or snack and can even be served as the dip at your New Year’s Eve party. It’s flavourful enough that you can eat it alone or on plain crostini or crackers, but it’s also mellow enough to serve with heavily seasoned flatbread crisps or pita chips.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This is also vegan. I feel way ahead of the game. As for my other Resolutions, I used my slow cooker to make Baked Potatoes (more on that in an upcoming post), and I still have time for my smoothies and caviar, okay? …and NO! I’m not going to put it together and make a smoothie…unless someone double dog dares me…and after I’ve had a few shots.

Broccoli & White Bean Dip

  • Time: 10 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

2 cups Broccoli, steamed

1 ½ White Beans, cooked

2 tbsp Walnut Oil (Olive oil will work just fine)

2 tsp freshly squeezed Lemon Juice

¾ – 1 tsp Salt

½ -1 tsp Black Pepper

1/8 tsp Red Pepper Flakes

2 tbsp Water

½ tsp dried Rosemary

Poppy seeds for garnish (optional)

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Instructions

Add all ingredients to a food processor and mix, pausing to scrape down sides. Blend until thoroughly combined. Add additional salt / pepper to taste if desired.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

So on that note, I’ll see you all in 2015. Hope this year will be wonderful for all of you. I’m looking forward to marking my first year as a blogger, strengthening my relationships, renewing and revising the list of things I want for myself, and putting myself out there more, which I’m told is a flaw of mine. Hope all of your resolutions stick for longer than a month or two, and would love to hear about some of them in the comments below.

Also, can the New Years sales start so that I can update my wardrobe for the new and improved Indi please? Thanks!

29 comments

  1. Good luck with Veganuary! The recipe looks delicious! Do you think that it would work well if I tried chick peas instead of beans? For some reason beans often don’t sit well with me :s Happy New Year!

    • Thanks Salma! It should be fine with chickpeas. I used white beans because I wanted to eat more of it and wanted to stay away from the hummus vibe. Would love your review of it if you do try it with chickpeas though!

  2. This looks really yummy Indira! Good luck with Veganuary! I went vegan for a while a couple years ago and I actually really enjoyed it, I did it because my doctor recommended dairy free as an anti inflammatory experiment, but I decided I might as well go full vegan and try it out! The main reason I stopped was a) I didn’t notice much of a health difference and b) it was too expensive and hard to find vegan alternatives to things like cheese and ice cream where I live (and I can’t do without my ice cream!)! Plus I missed my eggs and butter in baking haha!
    Looking forward to seeing any vegan recipes you have to share this month though x

    • Hey Michelle! Yep, I’m already seeing some challenges, especially because of where I’m located as well. Access to vegan substitutes like butter and cheese and items like tempeh, coconut aminos and nutritional yeast are virtually unavailable here. Even tofu availability has been sporadic lately and avocados are out of season. Plus I’m allergic to quinoa. Lol. I just made a menu of food for the week, so there are a lot of roasted veggies and other grains, so fingers crossed I’ll be able to make the month! Lol

  3. Indira, this looks absolutely delicious and simple to make! I don’t make resolutions, but some of your food one’s are very fun, especially the BBQing. I hope you have fun with Veganuary as well. I’m not vegan by any stretch (since I eat meat), but I’m allergic to milk and eggs, so I eat quite a few vegan dishes. I’m sure you’ll find lots of fun things to make throughout the month! Anything you’re looking forward to trying out the most?

    • Hey Kaila! I remember that you’re gluten free, so any recipes you could pass on would be much appreciated. I also eat a lot of vegan dishes regularly, but it’s harder when you have to think about it every day and know that your fallback fast food options are severely limited lol. I’ve never tried nutritional yeast though and since I”m a hugeeeee cheese lover, I’m interested in tasting it to see it if can hold a candle to what I know and love lol. I’m also looking forward to giving hemp hearts a try. Have you ever tried either?

      • Yeah, you’ll get used to it pretty quickly. I typically make a dish to eat throughout the week. Lately, I’ve been making Nutted Wild Rice and Autumn Squash & Corn Salad. The first has pecans with is filling, whereas the second I usually supplement with something. They’re both listed as side dishes on my Recipe Tab on my blog. Anyway, that’s how I make it through my meals at work that I need to pack. For day to day things, I have a few soups frozen in individual size portions in my freezer. Then my go-to meals to make quickly includes stir fry. Hopefully, that helps a bit. I haven’t tried a faux cheese yet. Since I’m not a huge cheese lover, I’ve never made my own and the store bought ones contain tapioca or something else I cannot eat. While you’ve probably already seen it, there was recently a BuzzFeed post with 14 vegan cheeses. All of them looked pretty, but I’m not sure about the taste: http://www.buzzfeed.com/leonoraepstein/vegan-cheeses-that-will-make-you-forget-about-the-real-th#.am0ZeG8wr .

      • Thanks Kaila! Your recipe looks incredible. I started trying the frozen soup thing a while back and would quite often forget about it in the freezer. I’ll have to start leaving a note on my freezer door or something! Thanks for the buzzfeed link as well. I’ve never had an inkling to make my own cheese but I will try a vegan version. It feels less gross somehow lol.

  4. Great idea to add the broccoli, I’ve made a white been and pumpkin dip but this is a new one.

    I’m very late in checking out the Fiesta Friday entries this week, just catching my breath after the holidays.

    Happy New Year, going vegan takes courage. I’ll look forward to hearing about your adventures this month.

  5. Looks like my kind of dip! I love making dips with white beans…never added in broccoli before…it sounds wonderful! Thanks for sharing it with us at Foodie Fridays last week…I’ll be pinning and sharing this one! Can’t wait to see what you share with us this week!

Leave a Reply

