11 Recipes to start the year off right (and 6 are mine!)

Happy New Year! How did you ring in 2015? I’m ashamed to admit this, but after a few glasses of champagne this morning, I forgot about my Vegan plan. It was after midnight and was I working on chicken strip number two when Rabin abruptly stopped chewing and asked “Aren’t we supposed to go Vegan?” Ugh. Failure #1 of 2015. I got really depressed for a bit because I worked hard on the recipe plan, and my family had a pretty good laugh at it.

Ok, me. They had a good laugh at me.

Rabin suggested that we start when we woke up later that morning, so coupled with that and my resolve to stay vegan for one extra day in February, I’m ready to try again.

The rest of the day went pretty well since I managed to make a few really great recipes. Along with corn on the cob and a whole roast chicken for my siblings, I made the following dishes:

1. Vegan Green Bean Casserole – Minimalist Baker

photo 2 (46)

2. Coconut Samosa Potato Salad – Vegan Latina (I actually forgot the coconut. It was still pretty delicious)

photo 1 (45)

3. Almond Falafel Crunch Bowl – Vegan Latina (I didn’t do the salad part, just the falafel. Easy and delicious)

photo 3 (43)

4. Tabbouleh – Mediterrasian

photo 4 (36)

I also really wanted to make the Asparagus & Avocado Potato Salad from Oh She Glows, but we were told by our vegetable guy on Monday that Asparagus wouldn’t be available until the weekend, and that we should come back on Wednesday for the Avocados. On Wednesday, we managed to get the Asparagus, but learned that Avocados are out of season! And you thought cooking was boring. I’m still sharing the link though… If I can’t have it, the least I can do is send some good food karma out into the world and share this recipe with you.

On another note, WordPress sent me my most popular pages of 2014, so I thought it would be fun to share those recipes with you. Not to brag (okay, I’m bragging a little), but my top 5 recipe posts were actually all recipes that I created on my own! Actually, the 6th recipe was a smoothie recipe that I came up with as well, so excuse me while I blow on my fingernails, polish them against my shirt and practice my ‘humble’ smile.

1. Avocado Coconut Cream Pie

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

2. Kala Chana Stir-fry & Black Bean Stir-fry

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

3. Roasted Garlic 2 Ways

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

4. Foolproof Lime Cumin Quinoa

photo 1

5. 12 Minute Leftover Chicken & Zucchini Pasta

Chicken & Zucchini Pasta

6. German Black Forest Cake Smoothie

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

I wouldn’t have picked that up without the handy little WordPress summary. I’ll take that as a hint and keep on creating in 2015!

Have a wonderfully productive Friday, and take solace in the fact that the weekend is quickly coming to visit 🙂

6 comments

  1. This stuff looks yummy. If I tried to go vegan I’d forget a few times a day – lol. good luck! hoping ill be inspired by you to shed some of this cookie weight!

  2. Those chicken strips were good. I admire your honesty. Love reading your blog. The dinner this evening looks scrumptious as well. Keep up the awesome work.

  3. Gorgeous, what a wonderful array of vegan dishes, so many to choose from, thanks for bringing ALL of them to Fiesta Friday. I especially love the avocado coconut cream pie, and the samosa one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

