Mondays & Mason Jar Salads

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Lemme guess. You’re wondering where the weekend went. Well, join the club. On Sunday mornings I usually wake up with a sense of purpose – I want to get a healthy start to the week, bake, prep a lot of food and cook a healthy lunch for Monday. Somehow, the day disappears and Sunday nights become my panic time – should I go make something now? What can I whip up quickly? Are veggies cut up? Should I abandon the thought of cooking and just have toast for lunch?

Sometimes I actually do get shockingly organized and finish making lunch early, plus 1 or 2 breakfast items / snacks. I smugly go to bed and as I’m about to drift off…I remember that I didn’t sort out my clothes for the next day. Or I didn’t wash my favourite travel mug. Or finish reading a document I promised myself I’d complete. Man, being an adult is hard.

I know mason jar salads are a popular thing, but for some reason I used to get irrationally mad when I saw one. I mean, how does it make sense to eat when every ingredient is piled up individually? I don’t want to eat plain lettuce to get to the next layer! It never actually occurred to me until recently that it’s just a cool way to pack your salad so that when you’re ready for lunch, you empty that jar into a bowl. Or you leave some space and shake it up. Duh. I’m not going to tell you how long it took for me to figure that out.

I decided to try to pack a citrus Asian inspired mason jar salad for tomorrow because it’s quick, easy, healthy, and you can easily pack for the week since these salads last for approximately 5 days in the fridge. I’m sharing it with you now because there’s still time to go and make it if you don’t have a lunch plan for tomorrow.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I’m not giving you measurements here because it’s totally up to you. Pack as much of each ingredient as you want. The rule of thumb is to pour the dressing at the bottom, and then add a chunky ingredient that won’t get soggy, or something that will soak up the flavor of the dressing nicely while still giving you enough dressing for the salad (like tofu). After that you add the other ingredients, and leave the lettuce for last so that when you pour it into the bowl, the lettuce goes in first. Clever, right? Irrational anger receding.

Asian Inspired Mason Jar Salad

Ingredients:

  • Citrus Soy Dressing
  • Baby Corn
  • Carrots, sliced into ribbons (I used a potato peeler)
  • Wild Black Rice
  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Roasted Cashews
  • Spinach Leaves
  • Sesame Seeds

Instructions:

Place items in jar, starting with the dressing.

Hope that you have a productive and healthy week. I’ll see you back here on Friday. Now get up and go make this salad!

9 comments

Leave a Reply

