Thyme Tomato Bites

photo 1 (3)

Once upon a time, there was a blogger. She had just joined the blogging world and was pretty overwhelmed by the sheer amount of things that there were to learn. One day, as she was stumbling through the world wide web, she came across a Gardener. Her name was Angie and she invited the blogger to join her weekly link-up party. She did join, and immediately felt welcome. She met dozens of bloggers who had similar interests, was able to talk through blog issues with them, and became very close to many. Up to this day, she looks forward to Fridays because she gets to hang out with some wonderful friends and see what they have created that week.
photo 5 (1)

In case you haven’t guessed, I’m the blogger. Angie is Angie over at the Novice Gardener, and the Linkup Party is Fiesta Friday. I joined almost a year ago, and I’m so excited that we’ve hit FF #52! The party has grown and I love that I’m a part of it! I’ve linked up almost every week, I co-hosted once, and I’ve done the FF Bread Challenge. I can’t wait to see what Angie challenges us with next!

Angie is hosting is a two week themed party. This week we’re linking up Appetizer / Cocktail recipes and today, I’m bringing my Thyme Tomato Bites to the party. I used Pizza dough mix because its well documented that I dislike working with dough, and if you’re hosting or going to a party, the last thing you want to do is work with dough.

This took me about 10 minutes to prepare, although the cooking time is about 25 -30 minutes, which you can use to get ready for the party. Or pour yourself a few pre-party drinks. Hey, I won’t judge.

Thyme Tomato Bites

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

1 pack Pizza dough Mix
2 Medium Tomatoes
1 tbsp Dijon Mustard
1/4 – 1/2 tsp dried Thyme, divided
1/4 tsp Black Pepper
1/8 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
1/4 tsp Parsley
1/4 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Cornmeal
Olive Oil

Instructions
Prepare dough according to package directions. Lightly grease a cookie sheet and preheat oven to 425 degrees. Roll dough out into a square shape and pinch the edges to create a crust. With a pastry brush, paint olive oil onto the dough and bake in oven for 10 minutes.

While the crust is baking, slice the tomatoes into 1/4 inch slices and chop parsley.

Remove crust from oven and using the same pastry brush, paint the mustard onto the tart. Sprinkle 1/8 of the thyme and black pepper onto tart, and then the cornmeal. This will absorb excess liquid from tomatoes.

Place tomato slices on tart, placing the 4 largest slices in the 4 corners and working your way in. Sprinkle remaining black & red pepper, salt, parsley and thyme. Spray or drizzle with olive oil. Bake for 13 – 15 minutes in oven on top shelf.
photo 2 (3)Remove from oven and cut into squares (one tomato slice per square) with a pizza roller.

Note: These tarts are great when they’re hot, but also hold together well as it cools.

If using for a dinner party or potluck, you have the option of preparing the tart beforehand and popping it in the oven when you or your guests arrive.

photo 4 (1)

So visit Angie and check out the lovely party snacks and cocktails. I’m off to go mingle.

Oh yes…and the blogger lived happily ever after.

photo 3 (3)

24 comments

  1. Love your “once upon a time” narrative! So sweet. πŸ™‚ Looks like we all have a chance to live happily ever after while enjoying these delicious tomato bites! Yummy…

  2. Ooooo I just love these Thyme Tomato bites – the colors are so vivid, the spices, crust and squares make a perfect appetizer. I’m really going to have to try this sometime soon. I too love the burnt edges, do you think we could share? :)) Happy FF, great original narrative!

  3. Yum! Your bites are quick, beautiful, delicious and so perfect for the celebration! I have been using a lot of thyme lately and have grown to love it so much. It pairs perfectly with tomatoes! Thanks so much for bringing this to help us celebrate! So glad to hear that the blogger lived happily ever after!! πŸ˜€

  4. These look delicious. Now, we don’t get pizza dough here so my only choices are to buy a pre-made pizza base or start from scratch for the dough. I’m going to try this for sure.

  5. I loved your story because it is so similar to mine! I enjoyed FF so much that I tried a few other linky parties and was so disappointed. I really like that you cut your pizza into bites like this. Just perfect for any party!

  6. Lovely! And I love even more that there isn’t any cheese but I just know I wouldn’t even miss it with those lovely flavours πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

