Friendship, Independent Thought & Chocolate Puffs

photo (3)

If you call me tonight at around 9 p.m, it’s very likely that I’ll be crying. Yes, I sometimes schedule my emotional breakdowns. People do that, right? This time, I’ll be sad because I’ll be watching the series finale of one my all time favourite shows – Parks & Recreation.

I recently binge re-watched (re-binge watched?) it and have fallen in love with it even more. I have new respect for Leslie Knope (played by Amy Poehler) and beyond the brilliant comedy and zaniness of the series, they’ve written her as a strong female lead (let’s just ignore Season 1). I really respect that they’ve made her a competent, ethical & driven government employee who still cares about her friends and the welfare of a crappy community. Pawnee really sucks but I love almost every character on that show. I really respect Amy Poehler and although I think that Tina Fey is my spirit Comedienne (Liz Lemon FTW!), Amy Poehler is someone I’d want as my best friend. I want to be her Ann! This final season has been fantastic and it has been wonderful to see so many guest stars revisit the show. Every second of every episode is like an easter egg. Bonus points – Chris Pratt was already killing it as Andy Dwyer long before he became Star-Lord.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Amy Poehler’s memoir “Yes, Please” is also a fabulous read. I was particularly inspired by one of her mantras in the book – “good for you, not for me”. Too often we compare ourselves to other people and where they are in their lives, and get down on ourselves and what we have. I am guilty of doing that too. Additionally, we get bombarded with pressure from society or people to act a certain way or accomplish certain things for no other reason than it being expected of you. Maybe you think that I’m wrong and my experiences are unique, but that’s one of the best parts of reading a book. That specific moment when your mouth drops open because you feel like the author is speaking to you alone is an indescribable comfort. I’m a pretty liberal chick, and I don’t believe that there’s only one right way to live a life. Good for you and what you have / do / believe, but that doesn’t mean it’s for me. And just because I might do or want something that you don’t, it doesn’t mean that I’m wrong (or right, as a matter of fact). Your judgment can stay right there on your lips because my ears aren’t taking visitors. That’s my grown up way of saying ‘talk to the hand’.

Her memoir also shows what a great friend she is in real life. Seth Myers (host of Late Night on NBC) writes a chapter. He and Amy hosted the SNL Weekend update desk for a few years. During this time, she was pregnant, and a few hours before the show, she went into labour, so he would have had to host alone that night. He writes that her message was “My water broke. You’re gonna do great!” I love that. I love that she found the time to encourage a friend while in the process of giving birth, and that he was an evolved enough person to understand and appreciate it. This is about the time I should say #friendshipgoals. In that vein, I’m grateful for the friends in my life, and I hope that I can be a Leslie Knope / Amy Poehler to all of you beautiful, tropical, naïve land mermaids. I love you and I like you.

So. On to food. How does anything I’ve said relate to food? Anyone who watches Parks & Rec will know that Leslie is obsessed with breakfast food – specifically waffles from JJ’s Diner. In one episode, JJ tells her that she spent $1000 the previous year on Waffles alone. Re-watching the series made me seriously crave waffles and I tried to break out the waffle maker but it’s pretty much shot. When I celebrated my blog-iversary a few weeks back, Rabin told me that I should do a “treat yo self” (which is another terms made popular by this show) and buy something to celebrate. I’m looking at waffle makers and if you have any good waffle recipes, send it my way, ok?

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Until I get my new waffle maker, I’m sharing a recipe for Chocolate Pear Hazelnut Puffs. It’s very close to a chocolate croissant (which is close to waffles…sort of…) and all in the same ‘fancy’ breakfast realm.

I found this recipe a while back at the Born in 82 Blog. Because the recipe is so simple, you can modify it to your taste, which I did. I got really into the combination of Pears, Hazelnuts and Chocolate last year  – check out my Hazelnut Pear Muffins and Chocolate Pear Tarts – and decided to bring it back.

Chocolate Pear Hazelnut Puffs

  • Time: 35 mins (excluding thawing of pastry)
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients
1 sheet Puff Pastry
1/4 cup Hazelnuts
1 small Pear (I used Anjou)
8 – 9 pieces semi-sweet Baking Chocolate
Powdered sugar, for dusting (if desired, but recommended)

Instructions

Take a sheet of puff pastry out of freezer and thaw for approx. 40 minutes. In the meantime, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Roast hazelnuts for about 8-10 minutes until browned. Remove from oven, allow to cool and remove skins by gently rubbing. Chop nuts.

Cut each rectangle of baking chocolate in half, and cut pear into small pieces. You will have extra pear remaining.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Flour a piece of wax / parchment paper. Unfold pastry and using a rolling pin, lightly roll out so that it is about 2-3 inches larger on each side. Ensure that you carefully pull up each corner and continue to sprinkle flour underneath to avoid sticking.

Cut into squares (I ended up with 16 squares) and in each, place a piece of chocolate, pear, and some hazelnuts. Fold the corners together to meet in the middle and pinch shut.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Place on a lightly greased baking sheet and bake in oven for 25 – 27 minutes. Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired, but is very recommended.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Notes:

1. Usually, you would use an egg wash on the pastry for it to brown and crisp up nicely. To be perfectly honest, I forgot about the wash. Go ahead and use the wash if you’d like, but you would likely need to reduce the baking time.

2. Rabin suggested that I used chocolate spread or chop the chocolate into finer pieces instead of the chocolate so that it would melt nicely and be ore evenly distributed throughout (what a nerd). I think it depends on the size of your puff. If you cut them on the small side, there’s really nowhere for the melted chocolate to go. I see his point though, so that decision is totally up to you.

3. Pinch the dough together to make it stick. The ones that I didn’t opened up a little unevenly, and a few opened up in a scandalous way that might offend a conservative person.

So there you have it. This will be my snack for tonight as I say goodbye to one of the strongest female characters on TV. Ron Swanson insists that there is no sadness that cannot be cured by breakfast food, so I hope these puffs qualify. Maybe I should also stock up on puffs…tissues?

25 comments

  1. Loved your write up. I havent watched the show but went through that enotion when Friends enepded in 2004. Loved these puffs. I absoluteky adore the puff pastry in frozen section…so many possibillites. I bet apple, caramel and chcolate would taste good too. Loved the idea of bold hazelnut there.

  2. Love your post! Honestly , I agree with you, that sometimes we compare ourselves with other people. Seems, we need to try harder and don’t do that. or may be ‘it’s life’ 🙂
    Have a lovely day!
    Mila

  3. I love Parks and Rec so much, I’m so sad it’s over. It’s not shown in the UK though so I have to wait until they eventually put it on Netflix 😦 At least I can put off it ending for a while! There’s not a character on that show that I do not love, they’re all so great!
    These puffs look amazing, they may not be waffles but I think Leslie would still be very happy with them!

  4. I love that mantra and may just adopt it as my own!! There is only so much judgement one person can take, don’t you thnk? I love your puffs too! I only started working with puff pastry recently and it has revolutionized what I do in the kitchen! Great post on all levels!! 😀

    • Thanks Julianna! I totally agree. The constant judgement and pressure can be such a weight. Cooking helps me forget all of that sometimes so it’s great to have an outlet. And yes! Puff pastry was a total revelation to me lol

    • Hi Caroline, thank you for the kind words! I love hazelnut and chocolate so much that the first time I had hazelnuts by themselves, it tasted like something was missing lol. If you give it a try, would love to see how it turns out!

  5. I recently got a big bag of frozen puff pastry and it has been sitting in my freezer. This is the first time that i would be working with it and i was just looking for inspiration when i saw ur post !! WOW ! I love the use of hazelnut here.. absolutely amazing.. i was thinking of taking a savory Mediterranean route of Spanakopita but ur combination looks far too good to let go off !! i shall be trying this soon . Thanks for sharing on FF 🙂

    • Hi there! Thank you for stopping by and for the kind words! Id love to see a picture of it when you try it. If you instagram it, hashtag it #illcookyouwash if you’d like. And yep… Spanakopita is on my list of things to try with my new fav ingredient – puff pastry lol.

  6. Yummy, this looks so delicious and easy, thank you so much for sharing! Will definitely be trying this at the next gathering, as it looks like the perfect individual-sized dessert!

Leave a Reply

