aside Lavender Infused Syrup + Help me choose a Cocktail name

Hey there. Remember me? I’m back and writing this post under the assumption that you’ve noticed my absence for the last two weeks, AND that you’ve felt the hole in your lives. Let me have this one, okay? It’s been a busy and tiring two weeks, compounded by travel, stress, allergies, the flu and general lethargy. All the more reason for the specific recipe I’m posting today. Actually, it’s technically two recipes. So let’s consider that I brought you a bouquet of flowers…with alcohol.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

So. First recipe. “Infused Syrup”. Sounds super fancy, doesn’t it? When I think of that phrase, I think of a syringe injecting some colourful concoction into a clear bag of liquid. Sounds very medical, doesn’t it? I like to think that if I ever find myself in the hospital hooked up to a drip – silver lining! I’d describe myself as a “morphine infused Indi”.

It’s a little difficult to find many uses for lavender. I’ve made Lavender Almond Bark, and I have lots of lavender type cupcakes and cake recipes marked to try. But I wanted more, so infusing it into a simple syrup of sugar and water seemed like a good idea.

photo 4 (8)

I also think that it would be a really nice gift to someone as well. It’s quick and easy for you to make (once you have a fine mesh strainer – you will kick yourself if you don’t), and is versatile to be used in cocktails, lemonade, in cakes, or as flavouring for coffee or milkshakes. Actually, if you want, attach my recipe to the bottle with your gift. If they like it, just direct them to my blog 🙂

Ingredients
1 cup Water
1 cup Sugar
1 1/2 tsp Lavender

Instructions

Add all ingredients to a skillet and bring to a boil. Stir until sugar is dissolved and let boil for about 1 minute until the mixture is slightly reduced. Let cool, and strain to remove lavender. Store in the fridge.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset


Now on to the cocktail. To be honest, I took a while posting this because I wanted to come up with a cool and clever name. I just couldn’t, so I asked a few friends for suggestions. It ended up being quite a lively discussion (with some very deep thought behind certain names), and I’ve decided to present some of the best ones for you to vote. Whatever name gets the majority vote by next Saturday wins the bragging rights. And I’ll make the cocktail for you. Probably. If you think you have a cooler name, I’m totally open to write-in votes.

The soon to be named Cocktail

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

3 tsp Lavender Syrup
1 cup Club Soda
1 shot glass Vodka (I used Grey Goose)
1 1/2 tsp freshly squeezed Lemon Juice

Instructions

Do I really have to tell you how to mix a drink?

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

If you’ve made this recipe or any of my other ones and decide to Instagram it, just tag me at @illcookyouwash or label it #illcookyouwash. I’d love to see what you come up with!

15 comments

  1. Busy..stress…allergy and lethargy -they all require a remedy. It seems you have found one in your:

    Goose blossom
    aroma-tini
    flower fizz
    VLG (vodka, lavander & giner)

    or …what you said. Cheers, with any name!

  2. Ahh this is so fun!! What a GREAT idea and I love the voting for the name! I can’t wait to see what the final results are and pass me one of those cocktails, please! It’s party time!

  3. Yes…you have been missed! Love that you returned with a cocktail. 😛 If anything will cure a case of the blah’s, alcohol will! Seems to me that sharing something boozy with the Fiesta Friday gang is an e x c e l l e n t idea!! Thanks for bringing your un-named cocktail…I’ll eagerly await the results of your poll!

  4. Wow! I had lavender cocktail not too long ago and it was awesome! Thanks so much for the great recipes! I will be making these for sure this summer when lavender is plentiful! I can’t wait! 😀

  5. I love lavender and always have a supply of the dried flower buds in my pantry. I have about 10 plants. A good cookbook is called “The Lavender Cookbook” by Sharon Shipley. It is excellent and has all kinds of good recipes. Another fun book is “The Scented Lavender Book”. I voted for Lavender Breeze!

Leave a Reply

