Roesti, Rants & Resolutions

photo (5)

I know you’re dying to know how I spent the last full week of March (quarterly reports due at work already!). I’ve been binge watching House of Cards (I’m halfway through Season 2 and really liking it) and I started having dreams that I was kidnapped by Frank Underwood, who was trying to get information from me by torturing other people I knew. Although I like that ‘talking to the camera’ method that Netflix employs, it’s clearly deeply unsettling to my subconscious. I also can’t decide which President seems to do less work – the HoC one or Fitz from Scandal. Also, – Oh right. This is a food blog. Let’s see…how about I make this rant relevant and talk about wine and popcorn or ribs? If you get those references, kudos. You can share my TV Nerd crown.

So anyway. I also managed to cross off the Pie & Ice cream Social that I had on my 2015 Food Resolution list. I made Sweet Potato Pie, Chocolate Pudding Pie, Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Ice cream, and Avocado Ice cream. I could have done more, but I’ve once again learned – Pie dough is stress! Among many of the other issues, you have to refrigerate dough about a million times (I’m not exaggerating).

Today I’m sharing a Roesti recipe with you. What is roesti you ask?

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

First, let’s confirm that you’re in a place to hear this. Tell me you love crispy potatoes. Tell me you look for the crispiest fry in the packet and eat it first. Or the burned bits at the corner of a pan of roasted potatoes. If you love that, you’ll love Roesti. It’s a Swiss dish with it’s base consisting of that perpetually magical starchy trifecta: potatoes, butter and salt. Think of a hash brown crisped up into a pancake.

I’ve seen different variations with bacon, leeks, cheese, etc, but today I’m sticking to a stripped down, buttery and salty version. This is perfect for brunch and a lot of the prep could (and ideally, should) be done the day before.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Roesti

  • Servings: 2-4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

4 Medium Potatoes

2 tbsp Milk

1/2 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Black pepper

1/8 tsp Red pepper flakes

2 tbsp Butter

Instructions

Using a fork, prick holes in raw potatoes, Boil in salted water until tender, about 20 – 25 minutes. Drain and let cool. For best results, refrigerate overnight.

Grate the potatoes using the larger side of a box grater. Add salt & peppers and mix thoroughly.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Melt 2 tbsp butter in a large skillet. Swirl pan to ensure that the surface is evenly coated and add potato mixture. Using a spatula, press the mixture together and flatten it. Sprinkle the milk over potatoes. Cook on medium heat for about 8-10 minutes, until the potatoes at the edges of the pan start to darken. You can cook longer if you prefer a much crispier texture.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Using a plate, cover the skillet and flip skillet over while firmly holding the bottom of plate. The roesti should flip onto the plate, crispy side up. Serve immediately.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
A much crispier one I made on another occasion

On another note, I’ve gotten very interested in improving my photography skills. I have a plain ol’ iPhone and won’t be investing in a fancy camera anytime soon (call me butter hands), but I’ve seen some gorgeous shots taken on the iPhone and know that I can do better. I’ve challenged myself to an April Food Photography Challenge. I am going to do Lesley’s April Food Photo Challenge (she’s over at the Purple Carrot), and you can see the list below I will be posting from April 1 (no, that’s not a joke!). I’m a little late as this was a 2012 challenge, but hey, better late than never, right?

Untitled-1_thumb[1]

Follow me on Instagram if you’d like to see how my pictures turn out. If you’re interested in joining me, just let me know and I’ll follow you too. I also welcome constructive criticism…so many of you take much better pictures than I do, so I’d appreciate any tips you have.

I’m linking up with Celia at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial, Angie at Fiesta Friday, and a special 1 year Anniversary shoutout to Salma, Raj & Nisha at Three Things Thursday! You ladies are great blogging role models 🙂

For someone who didn’t know what to write, I definitely had a lot to say this time. Hope you have a productive week and a fantastic Easter (in case I develop a case of lethargy and don’t post before then).

23 comments

    • Thank you! I like it as crispy as possible, although I get really anxious to eat it so I never let it brown as much as I should lol. Also, HoC! I’m almost done the 3rd season 🙂

  1. As a Scandal and House of Cards fanatic, I can say that Fitz DEFINITELY does less work than Frank lol

    This dish sounds very delicious- thank you for bringing it to the party this week 🙂

    • I’m now following you too! I think it’s because we follow so many FF people on wordpress and twitter we forget that that there’s a whole other social media world out there! 🙂

  2. Stripped down buttery salty potatoes sound good to me. My camera went in for repair so my last few posts have been with pics from my iPhone. Very liberating.

  3. looks delish! I’m also a HoC addict, did you watch the original? I binge watched the box set (on video cassette) as a student and loved it!

    • Actually, I didn’t even know that there was an original lol. I just kept hearing reviews about the Netflix version and got tired of answering questions like “omg, why don’t you watch it?!” from my friends . Peer pressure lol. I’ll check out the original version. Does the new one generally follow the storyline of the older one?

  4. Love crispy potatoes, great recipe.

    It has to be red wine doesn’t it? I binge watch “Scandal” (midway through season 2) and tried to watch “House of Cards”; I got most of the way through the first season and then had to quit. It really bothered my subconscious and I couldn’t sleep. It just seemed too realistic and scary to think that politics is that way (unfortunately I think much of it is).

Leave a Reply

