Asparagus Lima Bean Soup + the Great Fridge War of April 2015

photo 5

Right now, I’m locked in a thrilling power struggle. It’s Indi versus her crisper drawer. Yes, those two drawers in the fridge where you store your vegetables. At the most random times, the fridge seems to get a brainwave and freeze my beautiful fresh veggies. Sometimes I think that I will look back one day and realize that the crisper freezing was the first sign of the rise of the machines and I chose to ignore it.

The casualty this time was asparagus. The day before, I went to the market (ok, Rabin went. Although I love seeing the produce, I dislike going to the market because people take one look at the smiling, awkward newbie trying not to step in a puddle and the price magically goes up) and got a huge bunch of beautiful asparagus. It ain’t cheap over here, so I had plans to make about 3 other dishes I’ve marked off for when I decide to treat myself. Instead I got the saddest asparagus ice pops.

It didn’t ruin the nutritional value, but thawed Asparagus is soggy. Which means that if texture is an important part of one of the recipes (think stir-fry), then you’re just gonna have to wait until the next time you buy.

So what did I do? Life gave me lemons, so I made Asparagus Lemonade. Ugh, that sounds gross. I made soup. Asparagus soup.

photo 2

As for lima beans, I’ve had it in my pantry for so long but always overlook it, choosing instead the more flashy chickpeas or black beans. I had no idea that lima beans were so good for you! So in the pot they went. Lima beans are also known as butter beans, FYI.

Asparagus Lima Bean Soup

  • Servings: 4-5
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Instructions

2 cups cooked Lima Beans
2 cups chopped Asparagus
3 small Potatoes, scrubbed
4 cups Water or Stock
1 medium Onion, diced
2 cloves Garlic, diced
1 tbsp. Olive Oil
1/2 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Thyme
1/4 tsp Red pepper Flakes

Peas, Parmesan cheese – Optional, for garnish

The soggy-ish Asparagus
The soggy-ish Asparagus

Instructions

Warm oil in a pot, add onions and let simmer until translucent. Add garlic and sauté for another 2 minutes. Add water / stock, potatoes, Salt, pepper & thyme and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let cook until potatoes are soft. Add lima beans and asparagus and let simmer for about 1 minute. Remove from heat and using an immersion blender (or regular blender, just be careful!) and blend until smooth. Taste and adjust for seasoning.

photo 4

This soup has spring flavours, but a hearty, stick-to-your-ribs texture because of the potatoes and beans. I’m happy to share this with the gals at Fiesta Friday.

The soup ended up working out well, and I later remembered that I always wanted to make soup with veggies like Asparagus but thought that it was a waste to hide it. Hello silver lining!

Indi: 1 / Fridge: 0 (but I’m watching you, crisper! *glares*)

22 comments

  1. I totally understand those wars with the crisper drawers! I have them all the time! Your war has had a beautiful outcome and even more so because you have shared it with us! This looks so lovely and tasty! Thanks! 😀

  2. Indira, smashing hit!!! As I was reading the blog I was totally empathizing with you because my crisper has made me angry so many times to count. I absolutely love the combination of pairing asparagus with lima beans. I will try this recipe soon as I plan to explore soups soon. Like you, Lima Beans get bought for some strange reason while at the supermarket but remain in the pantry untouched until uh-oh…”what do I do with you?” occurs. Most times, mine get dumped in a cook-up. Now I have a new option. Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

