Power Ballads & Faux BBQ Cabbage Slaw

You know sometimes in a group setting, you randomly mention something that you believe to be a universal truth, and the other people disagree, and everyone ends up shocked and at that moment you begin a debate that ends up spanning months and dozens of beers? Sides are drawn, articles are googled, irrational anger takes over and you both know that this battle will have no end? Sort of like the white/gold and blue/black dress craze a few months back.

My friend and I are currently debating with some other friends over the term “power ballad”. Our wider definition of a power ballad is a song where the singer has a powerful voice, or makes you feel all of the feelings. Basically, they just need to be powerful overall. I mean, listen to “I will always love you” by Whitney Houston or “It’s all coming back to me now” by Celine Dion and tell me you wouldn’t define that as a POWER ballad. Don’t tell me that Poison & Whitesnake are the only type of power ballad you’ll acknowledge, great as their songs may be.

photo 3 (2) All this power ballad talk has made me want to listen to some old favourites. Which in turn gets me hyped. Any friend of mine will tell you that once I get hyped, I become this overwhelming, unstoppable planning machine. And spoiler alert: Planning machines love to organize parties, trips and events. Lots of them. Which in turn makes me come up with a menu that won’t stress me out but will be sufficiently unique, filling, and delicious. I know, it’s a lot of turning. It can make a gal pretty dizzy. I love BBQs but the extra work sometimes doesn’t cut it, so I prefer to be invited to them (hint hint all of you).

If you invite me to a BBQ or if I did have an event, I’d probably bring this BBQ cabbage hack I came up with. It is shockingly easy, quick and can be done right on your stove without pulling out the grill.

Faux BBQ Cabbage Slaw

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 10 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

4 cups chopped Purple Cabbage

2 tbsp BBQ Sauce of choice

1/2 tbsp Soy Sauce

1/2 tbsp Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 tsp Black Pepper

1/2 tsp Red Pepper Flakes

2 cloves Garlic, minced

2 tsp Water

photo 1 (2)

photo (1)

Instructions

In a small bowl, mix all ingredients except for water and cabbage.

Place chopped cabbage in a skillet and sprinkle water over cabbage. Cover and let cook on medium heat for 1 minute. Add sauce mixture to skillet , stir to evenly distribute, and cook for another two minutes until liquid has evaporated. photo 5 (1)

I’m bringing this to Fiesta Friday and a Dish of Daily Life (although I’m a little late to the parties!)

You’ll get a sense of my music tastes from my previous lists (click here and here), but right now I’m hyped on ‘more than a feeling’ by Boston. And ‘fast car’ by Tracy Chapman – FYI, music does not have to be fast to get me sufficiently hyped #wisdom.

Whatever it is, put on your version of a power ballad and enjoy the rest of the weekend!

6 comments

    • Thanks Kamana :). I told myself that I had to use out this head of cabbage this time. Too many times I’ve had cabbage in my drawer and it’s just been there for ages lol. So I’m proud I used it out this time. Hope to see pics when you make it!

  1. What a brilliant recipe – perfect to accompany a power ballad, I suppose – as long as you don’t play that Titanic song, ballad or no ballad!
    Thanks for coming along to Fiesta Friday with such a healthy side – I’ll bear that in mind for when the bbq season is open!

Leave a Reply

