(Three!) Breakfast(s) at Indi’s

photo 2 (5)

I’ve been procrastinating. Why, you ask? I’ll tell you later. *bows*. Yes, these are the sort of gems you get from me after two weeks of silence. It’s been a good/busy type of two weeks, and I’m quite looking forward to seeing what May holds for me.

One thing that I don’t want to hold on to in May? This insane amount of belly fat I’ve somehow accumulated. I’m very very lazy when it comes to exercise. Sometimes I think that my preferred exercise of choice is yoga because I don’t have to bust a sweat and almost vomit to say that I’ve had a good workout. I imagine myself in the gym so vividly that sometimes I feel that I actually went. My imagination gets an amazing workout daily. If only that counted!

I tend to find every reason not to exercise. I find ways to make up for it and to motivate myself – I buy clothes in the size I want, I use smaller plates, I drink a lot of water. I keep frozen fruits for emergency smoothies, and I have all the apps on my phone that track steps taken (not that I use it often). I’ve downloaded the same 5K app at least three times and when my phone memory is full, that app is the first to go. Let’s just ignore my 9 photo editing apps, ok?

Since I will never become a gym rat (I’ve accepted that truth), I started thinking about ways to improve my diet. I don’t think I’m a terrible eater, but I do splurge occasionally and there definitely are some changes I can make, especially at Breakfast. I eat a lot of bread and crackers and cheese. Delicious, but not the type of food that will help that stomach shrink.

Today I’m sharing three Breakfast recipes that have no cheese, eggs, crackers, bread or meat. I know right, is a breakfast without those things even possible?

'Sit on your back step and enjoy the sunshine' Yogurt Bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

photo 3 (3)

Ingredients

– 1 1/2 cups Greek Yogurt (I used Chobani)
– 1/3 cup Grapes
– 1 Strawberry
– 2 tsp ground Flaxseed
– 2 tsp Agave syrup
– 1 tbsp. Pumpkin seeds
– 1 tbsp. sliced Almonds

Instructions

Arrange all ingredients in a bowl. Sit outside, eat and enjoy the sunlight on your face.

Cherry Walnut 'Traffic Dessert' Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

photo 1 (5)

Ingredients

– 4 frozen Strawberries
– 1/2 cup frozen Cherries
– 1/2 tsp ground Flaxseed
– 1/4 cup Walnuts
– 3/4 – 1 cup Almond milk (or milk of choice)

Instructions

Add all ingredients to a blender or glass. Blend (you can use an immersion blender) until smooth.

I took a little longer to blend this because everything was still pretty frozen, and I ended up with a smoothie the consistency of slush. But that ended up being a good thing – I drank it in the car on the way to work and it was like having a frozen dessert for breakfast. I highly recommend it.

photo (2)

Overnight 'Not a sad desk breakfast' Espresso Oats

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

– 1 cup dried Oats
– 1 cup Almond Milk
– 2 tsp dried Vanilla
– 2 tsp Espresso Powder
– 2 tsp Agave
– 1 tbsp. coarsely chopped Walnuts

Instructions

Add oats, milk, vanilla and espresso to a jar. Stir and place in fridge overnight. In the morning, add your walnuts & agave.

Tip: This can fit neatly in your bag, but just make sure the lid is tightly sealed. Plus, mason jars for the win!

photo 5 (2)

I call these customizable because they ARE. You can take out and add in as you please…once you have your standard base, you’re good to go. One important element of customization? Give yourself options. What I try to do is keep an inventory of all sorts of healthy stuff (both in my fridge and my mind) and allow my creativity to do its thing. Just try to prep the night before because if you’re like me, all my brain power in the morning is directed at making coffee, putting the right lunch in the right bag, and neurotically making sure I haven’t magically left the stove on even though I didn’t use it.

Why am I putting so much effort into breakfast? Last week I looked at the Page-a-day calendar on my desk, read the daily quote and said “damn straight!” out loud. You can just go ahead and add ‘talks to herself’ to the list of things my coworkers call me (the list that I know of currently consists of “walks loudly in heels” and “hyper / moves her hands around a lot”). But I had toΒ agree with my homegirl Virginia Woolf:

photo (3)

So dine well, prep yourself for next week, and have a great weekend! Send good vibes to me and kindly tell this belly fat to #$^% off. Maybe it’ll listen, and I’ll be able to skip my workout this afternoon πŸ™‚

21 comments

  1. Oh Indira I did miss you posting last week. Lol! I love these blogs πŸ˜† I think I will try these breakfast options. My only thought was whether I’ll get hungrier faster since there is no protein or much carbs…hmm…will just have to try it and see.

    • Lol nice to know I was missed! The oats were surprisingly filling to me. I had it on Friday (couldn’t eat all at once so worked on half in the morning and half at lunch) and wasn’t hungry until about 5 that afternoon! Greek yogurt has some amount of protein, and as for the smoothie, the walnuts give it that heaviness, so I was at least okay until about 11:30 which isn’t too bad. Let me know how you find it though… would be interested to hear other opinions!

  2. Ha, Indira, the struggle is REAL! I have the same problem. And a love of food really doesn’t help! I menu-planned a super healthy week of meals, then I co-hosted this week’s FF and all my healthy recipes have been replaced with delicious looking, not-quite-so-healthy ones! Except my breakfasts! My breakfasts are now ^^^^^! I do tend to have similar things in the mornings, oats, smoothies, but even though I know you can mix and match and experiment, I get a bit stuck with my usual flavours and favourites (bananas, blueberries, kale, ginger). I love these ideas, and the sunshine yoghurt bowl is beautiful (as is that lovely teacup! ❀ ). I am deffo giving these a try. I always make overnight oats for my commute down to London on the train, but I've never thought of caffeinating them before! Lol! Did it turn out delicious? I am a bit nervous of espresso oats! I'm going to try on Thursday though, but maybe I'll start gently with a mocha flavour! πŸ™‚

    • Hi Anna! Yes, I totally agree with you that I can get stick on usual flavours. I have a drawer in my fridge that has all the good stuff – every type of nut I can get my hand on, seeds, shredded coconut, dried fruit, etc. I always used to forget about the espresso powder because its in my spice cupboard…but I’m happy I used it in this. I actually did like it – it wasn’t overwhelming and the vanilla offset the sheer coffee flavour. I’m not getting into overnight oats so would appreciates any combos you could suggest!

Leave a Reply

