Enthusiasm Girl & Avocado Cilantro Dressing

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
I think I’ve discussed this in a previous post, but if I had to choose a superpower, I would want to fly. It’s either that, reading minds, or time traveling. If we were assigned more realistic super powers, I’d probably be “Enthusiasm Girl” – able to work up insane levels of excitement and enthusiasm in seconds! Sometimes I literally tell friends “get excited!” when I receive a neutral (read: normal) reaction to an invitation.

So what got me excited last month? April had its share of food & blog related triumphs for me – yes, those exist. I managed to complete my April Food Photography Challenge, and I feel like I’ve definitely improved a bit in the photography arena. I’m by no means a pro, but I think that I’ve been refining my ability to look at something from a different perspective. I also played around with using negative space, as well as got a little more familiar with editing apps. Yeah, that’s me, sounding all professional and photograph-y! You can check out the pictures on my Instagram and tell me what you think – I’m still open to constructive criticism.

I made Baklava, and I’m quite proud of my first attempt. It wasn’t difficult, just time consuming. It was also more delicious than I expected – I’ve never been a huge fan of honey by itself.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Another reason for Enthusiasm Girl to appear? I saw this huge wheel of Brie at the supermarket the other day and every other problem in my life momentarily ceased to exist. I’ve never baked Brie before but I plan to, and I plan to try every recipe that you guys can throw my way. So send me your favourite Brie recipes please! And don’t judge me when i report in a future post that I ate the majority of a huge wheel of cheese by myself.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

So how does excitement relate to my salad dressing? You may know that I deeply love avocado and have openly professed my love on many occasions. I love fresh cilantro so much that I have a song for it (basically it’s a chant that goes “free cilantro, free cilantro” because once we got a bunch of free cilantro from our market guy to make up for selling us a bad batch of strawberries).

So add Avocado + Cilantro and suddenly you’ve got me, jumping around and ready to eat salad.

Avocado Cilantro Dressing

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 5 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset


Ingredients
1 medium Avocado
1 1/2 cup loosely packed Cilantro
2 tbsp Olive Oil
3 tbsp Lime Juice, freshly squeezed
1/4 – 1/3 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Black Pepper

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Instructions
Blend all ingredients together until smooth.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I’m also excited to be linking up with some great parties today – Celia at Fig Jam & Lime Cordial, Angie at Fiesta Friday, and Michelle at Foodie Friday.

So this is Enthusiasm Girl, signing off. Stay safe, stay hyper, stay enthused. I’m off to figure out what colour cape I want.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

5 comments

  1. This dressing could double as a dipping sauce or sandwich spread- it looks beautiful and delicious,thank you for bringing it to the Fiesta!

    • Thanks Jess! Yes, I kept it thick enough so that it can be used as a spread, but I really do like it on the salad. It gives it more “weight”…I feel more full when I eat it which is important when I’m eating a salad lol

  2. Love it! I am Enthusiasm girl too! I think about what I am going to love each morning to get my motor running before I get out of bed. That is tough on people that aren’t morning people (teenage children). I love this dressing. I can think of so many ways to use it. I’ll pick up a jar when I fly by!

Leave a Reply

