Bulgur, Kale & Walnut Stuffed Peppers

IMG_9372

It’s been an historic few weeks. Elections were held in our Country, there was a delay in results, and a subsequent change in government after 23 years of the previous party’s rule. I witnessed passion from friends and family when it came their political views, and it feels good to be part of a society that isn’t defined by abstainers.

Today, I’m leaving you with one of my favourite dishes – stuffed peppers. They’re easy, delicious, and look much fancier than they actually are.

IMG_9371

Bulgur, Kale & Walnut Stuffed Peppers

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

1 cup Bulgur
4 cups Kale
2 large red Bell Peppers
2 cloves Garlic, minced
½ tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Black Pepper
½ tsp dried Oregano
½ tsp dried Basil
¼ tsp Red Pepper Flakes
1/3 cup Walnuts, coarsely chopped
1 small/ medium Tomato, sliced
1 tbsp Olive Oil, divided

IMG_9368

Ingredients

Preheat oven to 350. Cut peppers in half, and scoop out seeds & white ribs. Cover a baking sheet with foil and place peppers cut side down on sheet. Place walnuts in the corner of sheet as well. Drizzle peppers with olive oil & bake for about 10 minutes to soften.

In the meantime, cook bulgur according to package instructions and place in a separate bowl. In the same frying pan, pour ½ tbsp oil and cook garlic on medium heat for 1 minute. Add tomatoes and let cook for 1 minute. Add bulgur back to pan with remaining oil, herbs, salt & peppers. Stir until thoroughly combined. Turn off heat, add walnuts & kale and let heat soften kale. If there is any olive oil left on your baking sheet, feel free to pour it off into the bulgur.

Bake stuffed peppers on sheet for another 20 minutes. If you think it looks a bit too dry, feel free to be liberal with the olive oil.

IMG_9370
Note: This recipe will leave you with extra mixture. You can use it to stuff additional peppers, or eat by itself. It makes a great salad or side for your meat.

Note #2: Save yourself some time and make the bulgur the day before.

A bit of news on my end: I’m off for vacation soon, so you’ll see less structured posts from me for a little while. Like the food nerd that I am, I’ve made an obsessive little list of all the different foods I want to try, so I’m excited to practice photography, see the sights, and most of all, EAT! I had the greatest plans of having backup posts, but I got busy and truthfully, lazy.

I’ll be posting from time to time on my vacation though. It will be the first time I’ll be posting from my WordPress App so if it you have any technical issues with viewing my post, please let me know. I’m also looking forward to meeting some of my favourite Bloggers in person!

I’m also looking forward to recreating some of the dishes I try, and I still can’t get it in my mind that crepes are cheap “street food” in France. I feel so fancy just thinking about it! To be fair though, I feel that any food that I suck at making is super fancy, so using that reasoning, Roti / Naan is extra super fancy too!

IMG_9369

Au Revoir!

11 comments

  1. I absolutely love bulgur – and your presentation is amazing! It was great meeting you and I am looking forward to your next posts … no stress! 😉
    Ginger

Leave a Reply

