Tales from the Road

Stop the presses! I’m finally back home after an exhausting but fantastic vacation. I traveled to places I’ve only ever dreamed of (and some I didn’t!), caught up with existing friends and met some new ones, ate nonstop and transformed into a slight culture snob (which I’m sure will be temporary!). I don’t have words in my vocabulary to describe how amazing the trip was, and the pictures don’t do it justice. But I will share some shots with you as the weeks go by.

My one regret is that I didn’t get to try a lot of the dishes that I had listed to try. Yes. I had a list. Divided by country. Call me a nerd, I don’t care :p

Don’t get me wrong, some dishes were pretty delicious, but some were disappointing. I think a big part of it was that many places that we went to seemed to cater to a touristy crowd and had a lot of globally known food – cheeseburgers, fries, spaghetti, margherita pizza, etc. Time was also a factor, and eating that amount in such a short time bordered on impossible.

It could also be that I’m weird and somehow seem to choose weird dishes to try.

Oh Food. I do love you.
Oh Food. I do love you.

So. In an attempt to mentally extend that great trip feeling and not overwhelm you with details in one post, I’m going to run a short series featuring places that I went to and my attempt at some dishes that I wanted to try on my trip but didn’t get a chance to. I’m taking all of you with me on my trip this time 🙂 I also want to come up with a catchy name for the series so I welcome suggestions!

I do have to say though, I have some really fantastic friends & family. They planned stuff for me, took time off and made the effort to hang out, and brought me into their circles as well. They braved their fear of heights and suffered with sinus issues for days to take me to mountains 3842m high. They made coffee for me every morning, did insane amounts of research to fit in as much sightseeing as possible. They argued with a street vendor to make sure that I got the right food. They ordered pizza to be delivered to a pub because the kitchen was closed. They gave up their rooms, went with me to the supermarket for 5 days in a row, went with me in the same store 3 times in pursuit of a nerdy, collegiate-type bag, and then carried said bag back home. I also had friends who messaged me to give me tips on where to go and what to see and do.

Rabin was also unshockingly great – he carried all my bags, he almost walked 500 miles (and almost walked 500 more), encouraged me to get that 4th scoop of gelato in one day, stood guard while I took a 10 minute power nap in a doorway, and managed to keep up with my admittedly packed itinerary.

Thanks guys. You’re all amazing.

See you later in the week. I can’t wait to start cooking again!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

