Puppy Yoga, Energy Bites & Co-Hosting Fiesta Friday!

As I was doing the Lazy Gal’s training (mostly jumping jacks during TV commercials) for a hike I did a while back, some days I ended up exercising and even doing yoga in my backyard. My puppies would crowd around me and stare with their heads cocked to the side and their mouths open, and I could just see them thinking “what is this crazy lady doing?” They also used to try to run on the yoga mat when I was already on it, presumably to show me the right way to do downward dog. Nowadays they just play nearby but tend to join me if I decide to walk or take a jog around the yard. Puppy aerobics. What a serious endorphin booster.

Yes, that is my 8 year old iPod. It has served me well.
Yes, that is my 8 year old iPod. It has served me well.

Today I’m thrilled to be Co-hosting Angie’s Weekly Fiesta Friday Party with Judi over at Cooking with Aunt Juju. I hosted once before and it was so much fun that I couldn’t wait to do it again. Thanks Angie and thanks to all of you great bloggers who joined the party this week! Guys, now’s your chance to check out what everyone else brought to the party this week. You can check out the linkup here.

The recipe I’m sharing with you this week is quick, healthy and a great alternative to a standard granola bar, although in the past, I was been a huge fan of oats in anything but oatmeal. Yup, just your average uncomplicated gal over here. It’s a staple in my baking. I’ve actually taken to making overnight oats recently, so I pack that a few times a week for breakfast. I like oats so much that a good friend of mine (and a regular recipient of my baking) told me the other day “if you give me anything with oats again, I will throw it against a wall.” Lol. I get it. Food fatigue is a real thing. I’m pretty tired of Indian food and will only order it on occasion when I really crave it, or when I’m with people who love it. I can’t even cook Indian food properly. Remember my Channa Saag-ish? Yea.

Anyway, I challenged myself to make something without oats that was still healthy. Cue these energy bites.

4 Ingredient Energy Bites

IMG_6925

Ingredients

1 cup Dates, pitted
1 cup dried Cranberries
1 cup Almonds
1/2 cup Sunflower Seeds

IMG_6655

Instructions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spread Almonds on a baking sheet and toast in preheated oven for 8-10 minutes. Keep a close watch to ensure that nuts do not burn. Remove and let cool.

Add all ingredients to a food processor fitted with a metal blade. Process on high for about 5-8 minutes, until all ingredients are sticky and have formed into a ball. It’ll take a bit of time, but trust me, it will form. Roll out between two sheets of wax paper to about 1/2 inch thickness. Place in fridge for about 30 mins to an hour. Remove and cut into squares. Store in fridge.

So check out some the awesome things that my Fiesta Friday friends brought to the party. My blog buddies are so cool :). Have a great rest of the weekend!

8 comments

  1. Dogs see you moving and they always seem to think you want to play with them – I have had that happen a number of times in the past! I would enjoy eating just the ingredients of your energy bars especially the way you have presented them. Good, healthy snack. Happy Fiesta Friday and I am happy to be co-hosting with you 🙂

    • Thanks Judi! I’m happy to be co-hosting with you as well :). It’s always so great to see what everyone brings to the party! This is my first time with so many puppies around, so everything with them is a new experience for me. I’m suddenly totally a dog person hehehe.

  2. Now this is when you know you’re at a huge disadvantage for not having a puppy. Puppy yoga sounds so much fun! Probably funny, too. And I love funny. Like my iPod is older than yours. Isn’t that funny? 😀

Leave a Reply

