Asparagus Parmesan Tart + Do you feel festive yet?

I’m ashamed that it’s been almost a month & a half since I last posted. A lot can happen in roughly 45 days. Birthdays were celebrated, liquor was consumed, Christmas spirits were found and lost and found again, life altering decisions were made, parties were attended, deadlines were met, shopping carts were filled, wallets were consistently emptied, and of course, food was there the whole time.

And it’s only the first week of December.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

November and December are months where everything seems to go off the rails. I don’t post, I eat like sh!t, I “forget” to exercise even more than usual, and I even write on my calendar with black ink instead of blue! Madness, I tell you. Madness!

I also realized that my new seasonal conversation opener is “So. Do you feel festive yet?” Ugh. Nerd. I think I feel about 40% festive. I’m currently way more concerned with shopping and debating whether I should invest in a Madeleine pan. I mean, our tree is up, but there are no decorations on it. Those are in the storeroom and I have literally don’t have the energy to unlock the door to find them. I have Christmas playlists that I haven’t taken in to the car as yet, and I haven’t even touched my David’s Tea Advent Calendar. Which began on December 1st.

Anyway. As I said, food endures and one recipe I wanted to try for a very long time finally came to fruition. It’s funny because it’s the easiest thing you will ever make – An Asparagus Parmesan Tart. The food stars aligned and I realized that I had Asparagus, Puff Pastry, Parmesan cheese and time (the tick tock type of time, not the delicate herb kind). It was something I had seen on Martha Stewart, but I’m not fancy with the Gruyere cheese or with the perfect rectangle shape making, but I think my less classy version still has that buttery, flaky, salty, delicious vibe going on because seriously…isn’t that all we really want in life?

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Asparagus Parmesan Tart

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients
1 sheet Puff Pastry, thawed for approx. 40 mins on counter
1 bunch Asparagus, wooden ends removed
3/4 cup grated Parmesan Cheese
3/4 tsp Black pepper
1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
1 tbsp Olive Oil

Flour, for dusting

Instructions

Thaw pastry on counter for approximately 40 minutes. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.Gently unfold pastry and on a lightly floured counter, roll into a 14 x 14 inch square & trim uneven edges. Using a sharp knife, score a light border about 1 inch away from the edges of the entire square. Using a fork, pierce inside the border markings, about 1/2 inch away from each other. Bake in oven for 15 minutes.

Remove from oven and let cool slightly. Sprinkle parmesan cheese liberally on tart (except for borders). Place trimmed asparagus on tart in any design of your choice (I went for basic and neatly lined them up although Martha suggests alternating ends and tips). Brush with olive oil and sprinkle remaining cheese, adding more if necessary (extra cheese is always necessary, in my opinion), along with peppers.

Return to oven and bake for 20-25 minutes.

Note: If you were so afraid to cut too deep into the pastry and ended up having the middle rise much higher than you anticipated, just cut it again when when you take it out of the oven the first time. The middle will fall inward, and just proceed as normal. If it looks messy, just remember that “rustic” is a real thing.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

 

__

11 comments

    • Thanks Anne! You’re right. I was considering trying it with broccoli. Roasted broccoli is delicious so I thought that would be a great combo. But now tomatoes sound wonderful too… Hehehe. Happy Holidays!

  1. It’s lovely to see you back! I haven’t been very festive at all yet, so I think 40% is quite a respectable number! What a pretty tart, simple and the perfect combination of flavours. As Anne said above, it does sound great for so many different vegetables…!

  2. Nice, Indira! I think I’m finally up to… uhm… about 70% on my festive fuel. It’d better be 100% this weekend since that’s when I’m going to start my holiday baking marathon, woohoo! 😀

Leave a Reply

