Chestnut Rice Krispies Squares + a Kitchen Challenge!

It may be basic of me, but it needs to be said: Starbucks Chestnut Praline Lattes are life (cue that double hand in the air emoji, whatever the correct name is). They’re the best holiday drink and when I’m lucky enough to be in North America while the seasonal drinks are out, I drink these until I get sick. I’m like a kid that doesn’t know her limits. I sometimes even forget to drink water. Please don’t tell my Mom.

IMG_9846

Anyways, knowing that once the new year starts, Holiday drinks are on their way out, and I just cannot deal with such huge life changes. I started thinking that they should sell the syrup for junkies like me, so on my last vacation, we asked a barista whether they sold the praline syrup. They did!…But didn’t have any available at that branch. Sigh. However, later in December Rabin went on a work trip and stopped at a Starbucks to buy the syrup to surprise me. The store said that they don’t sell in the US, but Rabin explained our plight – that we live in South America and his wife loves Starbucks so much, she’d be so happy, and he’d earn eternal points . Plus apparently he told them I’m a caffeine addict so buying the syrup would in no way reduce the amount of coffee I actually did buy. The way he told me the story, I’m surprised that sad music didn’t play in the background while he persuaded the barista. But who cares! Hello syrup! 150 points to Gryffindor.

IMG_9849

Not to diminish the absolute awesomeness of this story, I later found out that chestnut syrup is also available on Amazon. Apart from the actual Starbucks brand, you’ll also find Torani syrup. I’ve been pouring it into my coffee and it’s been so wonderful. I’m saving actually making the praline latte for a rainy Sunday. I’ll know the day when I see it.

I also decided to experiment a bit with the syrup. My first attempt: Rice Krispies Squares. I seem to always have Rice Krispies & Marshmallows at my house for emergencies. Yes, emergencies. You know what I’m talking about.

Anyway, adding the syrup was actually pretty great. I mean Rice Krispies Squares are awesome on their own, I know. No need to fuss with a perfect thing. But I just had to know! I’m glad I did. The syrup gives the Squares a slightly nutty aftertaste, and to me, it tones down the sweetness a lot. Which fools you into thinking you can eat more. Which I did.

IMG_9847

Note: If you’ve been thinking “whoa she’s super (insert rude word of choice here)” because I’ve been talking about chestnut praline syrup, just know that you can use any random syrup that you come across, but be wary of sweetness. I would say that a nutty or aromatic flavor makes more sense than a white chocolate syrup, for example. I’ve also gotten into giving people flavoured syrups as gifts – that’s not weird, right?

Chestnut Praline Rice Krispie Squares

Ingredients
40 (large) Marshmallows
6 cups Rice Krispies Cereal
1 tbsp. Butter
2 tbsp. Chestnut Praline Syrup

Instructions

Spray a 9 x 13 glass bowl with nonstick cooking spray. Melt butter in a saucepan on medium heat and add marshmallows. Stir to combine with butter and continue to stir until the marshmallows have melted.

Add syrup and stir to combine, then immediately add rice to the pan and using your muscles, keep stirring until the marshmallows are evenly distributed and the mixture appears sticky. Transfer to the prepared pan immediately and use a spatula to smooth the mixture evenly.

Allow to cool. Cut into squares and enjoy!

IMG_9847

Random Thoughts currently in my head:

– RIP Alan Rickman. The Harry Potter Series holds a special place in all my feels and you and Maggie Smith are at the heart of it.

– Don’t overload your fridge door. Why? Because you’ll accidentally break a large glass bottle and shards will fly at least 10 ft. (I’m not kidding) in every direction and you’ll cut your foot and hand on separate occasions and will still be finding glass shards 3 days later.

– Puppy Instagram feeds are my new favourite thing.

– Current small changes that have made life infinitely easier?
– Bought an extra phone charger to keep at work.
– Enabled the left thumb recognition on my phone (only had the right hand before)
– Set the DVR to record my favourite show by series and not by episode.

–  While we’re on efficiency, check out the Hotspotgy Kitchen Challenge. It’s not too late to join. This month, we’re talking about ways to make your kitchen and cooking more efficient.

Kitchen L

Have a wonderful weekend!

10 comments

  1. I love how you used the chestnut praline syrup to make a twist on this classic recipe. I tend to make chocolate chip rice krispies, but now I’m definitely thinking about mixing a syrup into the mix! Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

  2. The Chestnut Praline syrup sounds delicious! I’ll have to remember to try it next Christmas… haven’t made rice krispies since the kids were little – but I’ve always loved them! I might have to just buy a box and make ’em! And add some nutty syrup to make them even better 🙂 Thanks for bring to Fiesta Friday! 🙂 🙂

  3. I know the feeling of really wanting something that’s only sold in another country, as one of my favorite ice cream’s is the same way! Too bad I can’t just bring a bunch of it with me on the plane :sigh: if only haha. But these hazelnut rice krispie treats sound like the perfect vessel for something so yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

