Poached Pears & 2 Years

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Yes, I am a poet. Pears & Years. Pure genius. It’s been 2 years since I created this blog. Happy Blogiversary to me! I feel like I only started the other day, yet when I scroll through my recipes and previous posts I’ve even surprised myself. I have talked a LOT.

To celebrate, I’m going to share a Poached Pear Recipe with you. This recipe is dear to me because I used two of my new favourite kitchen items: my Le Creuset Dutch Oven and Madagascar Vanilla Bean Paste. Ugh. So fancy and snobby. I hate myself but also love myself.

Why Vanilla Bean paste? I think I mentioned this a while back (hey, it’s been two years. I’m allowed to repeat a story of two!) but when Rab and I went toย a cooking class last year, the instructor mentioned that “be liberal with the vanilla. You’ve never heard someone say that a dish has too much vanilla, have you?” She then went on about Vanilla bean paste being like an intensified, more syrupy vanilla extract. Ugh. Consider me SOLD…until I saw the price. It is notably more expensive than regular extract, but cheaper than vanilla beans, I think. I couldnt justify it to myself the need to buy it at the time, and it’s taken up space on my dream ingredient list since then. Rabin finally persuaded me to buy it at Christmas, along with the Dutch Oven. It was a good day.

Right. back to the pears. Funny enough, this ingredient fits really well with the Blog-iversary theme. When I first started the blog, I was on a pear kick. I tried Pear Hazelnut Muffins & Pear Tartlets but never got around to actually poaching them even though I’ve seen lovely recipes over the years. I added cardamom because I recently discovered the intense difference between prepackaged cardamom and freshly ground cardamom (Gives my Cocoa Cardamom Baked Apples a whole new life) and I want to use it in everything, including using it as a perfume.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Vanilla & Cardamom Poached Pears

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 35 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:
3 Pears (I used Bartlett)
3 whole Cardamom Pods, seeds removed
1/2 cup Sugar
2 cups Water
2 tsp Vanilla Bean Paste (or about 3 – 4 tsp Vanilla extract / essence)

Remove skin from Pears (I used a potato peeler). slice in half and remove core / seeds. In a dutch oven or large pot, pour water, sugar, whole cardamom pods and vanilla and give it a stir. Place pear halves cut side down in the liquid mixture. The water should be about halfway up the sides of the pears. Bring to a boil then reduce immediately to a simmer. Cover, and let simmer for about 20-30 minutes until the pears are soft and the liquid has reduced into a syrup.

Serve with syrup, without, with ice cream, waffles, or whatever you want. It counts as a fruit, right?

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

So back to the Blogiversary. I started writing partially for therapeutic reasons, and that reason still endures in addition to the new reasons that continue to pop up. Food is an even bigger part of my life now and I’m very happy about it. Thank you to those who have been there since the beginning, suggesting names and recipes, signing up, sharing the blog, making an effort to read the posts regardless of how busy you were, as well as those of you who, sometime since then, found this random collection of my thoughts and decided it was interesting enough to stick around.

21 comments

  1. Congratulations on completing two years of blogging. This recipe and your lovely pot are a great way to celebrate. I love that you use whole cardamoms – just about my favourite spice in the cabinet, although I sometimes I avoid using it because of the time in peeling the pods.

    • Thanks Hilda :). Yes, I admit that it takes a bit of time and that’s what had deterred me before. But I was shocked at how aromatic and delicious it was that it was worth the effort (although I wouldn’t do it every day. Lol)

  2. Happy Blogiversary – what a beautifully shot dish! I have never ever poached pears and you make me wonder what I’ve been doing all those years …
    Happy Fiesta Friday!
    Ginger x

  3. Congratulations for the two years of blogging. I am turning 3 this year. Phew! That reminds me that I need to prepare something to bake or cook.

    Anyway, the recipe sounds delicious. Cheers to more years of blogging and delicious shares. ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Congratulations on two years!! The combination of vanilla and cardamom sounds so delicious. I haven’t used vanilla bean paste before but it definitely sounds worth it. Normally I use extract or a vanilla bean (which I have been portioning out a centimetre at a time… it is getting a bit ridiculous!).

  5. Congrats! I love the idea of these pears and I feel the same way about Cardamom. Actually, when I was younger I didn’t really like the taste but now I use it on a pretty regular basis – and I always crush my own…

  6. i want to make a perfume out of cardamom too. and coffee. but since i cant i usually throw them in desserts together. lol

    happy (belated) blogiversary!

Leave a Reply

