Lucky Green Salad & Avocado Dressing

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
What makes this post lucky? No idea. I’m jumping on the St. Patrick’s Day bandwagon. Excuse me while I go drink a Guinness Blonde (because boooo regular Guinness).

Before I go though, I’ll admit that I’m super into salad nowadays. Well…I have to be, because something possessed me to buy Romaine lettuce, Iceberg lettuce, Kale, Cabbage AND Purple Cabbage all in one week even though my crisper drawer war continues into 2016. And that’s just the greenery. I thought it would be fitting to post this today (St. Patrick’s Day), and not because the half written post was just there hanging out for weeks and the coffee hit the right spot this morning (which may or may not have been Irish).

I’ve been busy trying to step up the cooking game recently. The successful Hotpotgy Cabana Cocktail last month has apparently motivated me more than I expected and I’m excited about what we have planned for the rest of the year (and I can’t wait to tell you about it! Stay tuned next week for more details on our next event to be held in May).

Anyway, back to my food adventures. I tried jalapeno popper stuffed buffalo chicken meatballs, Unicorn poop cookies, Oreo cream cheese cookies, pumpkin peanut butter doggy biscuits (the puppies went INSANE over them), and spring rolls. (More about spring rolls soon!). Rab also splurged and bought me bamboo steamers. Dim sum day soon! Let me know if you want an invite – it’s BYORP (BYO Rice Paper).

I’m not showing off, I promise. The moral of the story is that sometimes all you need is one good event, motivator or memory to start an avalanche of great experiences. I mean, it happens to me with bad experiences too… Murphy’s Law and all that, but it’s nice to feel that it works the other way around as well.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I’m feeling that positive avalanche with pop culture too. The Gilmore girls revival seems to be coming along great, Supernatural was renewed for a new season, three of my favourite authors are releasing books soon, my favourite singer and band both have albums out in April, and three of my favourite food bloggers have cookbooks out this year. Two superhero movies I’m obsessed with are out in a few months, and TV shows are back from winter break. I also found out that a vineyard is making an actual brand of Tituss’ (from the Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt) pinot noir! (The “Peeno Noir” song was one of my pop culture highlights last year. Check out the video if you haven’t already) Plus, John Stamos is on two different networks so I get to double lust over him. Life is good…or is it lucky?! (maybe this really is a lucky post.)

Also, on a blog a little while back I saw a list similar to what I have below and I thought that it was a cool way to document what I’m currently reading, listening to and watching. Do we have any in common?

Listening: Castle by Halsey [featured in the Huntsman Winter War Trailer and makes me feel somehow invigorated]
Reading: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. [It was on the list for a while, but seeing Khaleesi and Finnick Odair in the movie trailer bumped it to the top of my list. No spoilers but…damn.]
Watching: 11.22.63 on Hulu [Time travel & an unsolved mystery? Yes please]

Lucky Green Salad & Avocado Dressing

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients for the Salad:
2 cups Kale
2 cups Iceberg Lettuce
1 1/2 cups Cabbage
1.4 cup frozen Peas
1/2 tbsp Flaxseed
1/3 cup slivered toasted Almonds

Ingredients for the Dressing:
1/4 cup Avocado Oil
2 tbsp freshly squeezed Lime Juice
1/4 – 1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Black Pepper
1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Instructions:
Chop lettuce & cabbage and add to a bowl. Chop kale and massage briefly to break down the fibers and reduce the tough texture. Add peas to a pot of water, bring to a boil. Drain and add to bowl. Sprinkle flaxseed and almonds.

Add all salad dressing ingredients to a jar. Cover and shake vigorously. Pour dressing over leaves and toss until everything is evenly coated.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Bye for now. A certain Blonde Guinness is calling my name.

3 comments

  1. Loved reading this happy-go-lucky post and love the look of that salad! After the overdose of all kinds of green, sugar-loaded treats, this salad is such a refreshing change 🙂 Thank you for sharing at Fiesta Friday!!

Leave a Reply

