Green and White Soup & the Red Capes are coming!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I’m calling it now: Henry Cavill as the next James Bond. To be honest, I first felt that way when I saw him in the Man from U.N.C.L.E., but seeing him in Batman v Superman reminds me of my pretty much definite prophecy. He is one good looking, suave, chiseled man and I can’t imagine anyone else in the role. Guess you could see whose side I was on in the movie. But let’s be fair. Ben Affleck looked damn good as well – muscles work for him, and so does the silver-ish foxy-ness.

As for the content of the movie, I don’t know how I feel. I don’t actively hate it and I’m not full of rage at the story. But I didn’t geek out or get all fangirly either. Spoken by the girl who was deeply devoted to the Adventures of Lois & Clark as well as Smallville. I won’t spoil anything (and I’m posting this about two weeks after the movie’s release so if you’re a huge fan, you should have seen it by now), but I will say that I was the most disappointed by how annoyingly useless Lois Lane seemed to be. And I didn’t like Jesse Eisenberg’s Lex Luthor since I saw the ad (“I would not pick a fight with this person”). Smallville’s Lex is the only Lex.

That review had absolutely nothing to do with the recipe today. In fact, I created this recipe last year around July. But I couldn’t find a proper way to talk about it. I couldn’t find that hook. It kept getting relegated to the draft folder, taken out every other month, I’d start an intro and then just close it. I can be all deep and say that that’s how life is sometimes – it might not ever feel like the right time but sometimes you just need to bite the bullet and do it. Or I could just chalk it up to being indecisive. I don’t know. I can’t decide. 😎

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

It’s not that the recipe is crap. It’s actually the opposite. I wanted a proper post with cleverly written lines about the green-ness and white-ness of this soup to reflect how proud I am of it and how cool it is.

So.

How cool is this green and white soup? I came up with the concept long before I actually had the ingredients. I sat there, slowly listing the ingredients I knew that were green, then gained speed as my excitement increased as I thought of more and more white ingredients. “Tofu….RICE! Rice is also white! Oh! SESAME SEEDS!!!”

And that, my friends, is your exclusive behind the scenes peek of my cooking process. Amazing, huh?

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Green & White Soup

Ingredients
2 cloves Garlic, minced
1/2 medium Onion, sliced
2 tsp Olive Oil
2 1/2 tsp Sesame Oil
6 cups Water
1/2 cup cooked Basmati Rice
3 tbsp low sodium Soy Sauce
1 package firm Tofu
3 cups Kale, chopped
1/2 cup Broccoli
1/4 cup frozen Peas
3/4 tsp Sesame Seeds
1/2 tsp Black Pepper
1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes

Instructions
Press tofu for 10 minutes either using a press or wrapping it in a few sheets of paper towel and placing a weight (such as a can) on top of the tofu. Cut into cubes.

Warm both oils in a 5 qt pot. Add onions and cook on medium heat until translucent. Add garlic & tofu and let tofu brown a little for a few minutes, stirring occasionally. Add water, soy sauce and peppers and bring to a boil. Add kale and let boil for another minute, then add peas, broccoli & rice. Lower to a simmer for one minute.

Top with sesame seeds and serve.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

In my last post, I started a “Reading / Listening / Watching” Roundup and my friend Nadia took my book suggestion and loved “Me before You” by Jojo Moyes as much as I did. I have to say, I felt pretty great that she loved it so much and now I want to recommend stuff to everyone all the time! Thanks Nads! 🙂

Reading: You’re never weird on the Internet by Felicia Day. Loved her as Charlie on one of my all time favourite shows, Supernatural.
Listening: Cleopatra by the Lumineers [Apart from the awesomeness of their songs, They make songwriting look so beautiful and cool.]
Watching: Archer! [So wrong and yet so right.]

And that’s my take on pop culture this week. Oh yeah, and there’s the recipe, of course. Have a wonderful weekend.

 

2 comments

  1. I never liked Superman when I was a kid. I was more of a Batman-kind of girl. But watching Smallville led me to loving Superman and oh, Henry Cavill. Hmm, James Bond would look good on him, too. ❤

    And I don't blame you for being too 'late' in posting the recipe of this. I have tried and tested recipes that are waiting to be posted, but I have never written anything about it. I mean, they are delicious, of course, but I can'f find the right words to start with. But I am glad that you finally had the chance to post this as it sounds absolutely delicious and healthy.

Leave a Reply

