Candied Pecans & a Scavenger Hunt

I always wanted to be a detective. I think I’ve said that before. I mean, I think I’d make a terrible one because my workout schedule may or may not include jumping to conclusions (glutes ftw) or running out of patience, so I might very well conclude that the thief was the victim’s long lost mother’s friend’s dog trying to reclaim what he believes is rightfully his. Sounds like pretty good TV show premise, right? I’d call it…Dog Dynasty. Or Ruff Robbers. Once they don’t talk though. Talking animals freak me out.

13010670_1100585870002307_852418849925536062_n

‘Detective’ has evolved to ‘Explorer’ over the years, be it travel, cooking, reading, or exploring my inner psyche after one too many beers. It doesn’t help that my name is Indira and that Rabin likes to call me Indiana sometimes.

Anyways, for my Guyanese readers, Hotspotgy is hosting it’s first Scavenger Hunt! It’s called “Love Where You Live”, and is a Guyana Themed Scavenger Hunt in celebration of our 50th Independence Jubilee Celebrations in May. The Hunt will be held on May 5 (a National Holiday) from 1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., starting and ending at the 704 Sports Bar. The cost is GYD$2000 per person and is a family friendly event, so kids can play as well.

The Hunt will require teams to collect the specific items on the list we provide, as well as take selfies at popular landmarks and figure out poem type clues. The Registration fee entitles you to free drinks or special treats for the kids. We’ll also have exclusive Guyana themed activity books so they definitely wont feel left out!

If you’re interested in forming a team or would like to read more on the official rules, follow the link for the Registration form & Rules. You can also follow Hotspotgy on Facebook to keep updated with the latest developments and sample questions.

And now, for the recipe. This is once again, very simple, straightforward and makes a good snack for when you’re on the go…like driving around and collecting items as a fun game, perhaps?

The fact that it’s a stovetop recipe also eliminates the need for egg whites, which is something I often see in candied nut recipes. I have a fear of under cooking eggs and meat (which I shall explore after my next few beers), so using just a bit of water is totally fine. If you don’t have vanilla bean paste or pecans, that’s fine. I suspect it will work with regular vanilla extract & walnuts if you want to substitute.

Vanilla Candied Pecans

  • Servings: 2 (or 1 because it's possible to eat an entire bag when you're not paying attention...or so I've heard)
  • Difficulty: super easy
  • Print

Ingredients
1 cup Pecans
1 1/2 tsp Vanilla Bean Paste
1 tsp Brown Sugar
2 tbsp Water

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

In a wide skillet, add pecans and turn the stove to low heat. Make sure the nuts are evenly spread out and are touching the pan (aka no bunches). In a bowl, add all remaining ingredients and mix until the sugar is dissolved. Watch the nuts constantly since they can burn easily. When the nuts start to become fragrant, pour your mixture into the pan and continuously stir until the nuts are all coated, and keep stirring until all liquid is dissolved. Let cool.

You can also add chocolate chips, toasted oats or coconut, but I was pretty happy as it was.

Have a wonderful week!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

