Buttery Walnut Potatoes & Blog Changes

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I’ve been sort of lazy, free spirited and unplanned in all aspects of my life recently. Take my kitchen style for example – I’ve tried making menus for the last few weeks as well as to- do lists, but that in itself has been very discouraging. What does it say about the extent of my self destructive nature when I don’t follow my own to-do list to prove a point to myself? (take a second and reread. I’ll wait. You’ll get it eventually.) “Who does that Indi think she is? Planning out her week like that! I’ll show her!”.

For a while, I was also barely on social media, and really couldn’t even focus too much on what I was reading. It’s felt like a much needed mini break to my life and it’s actually been nice to slip into obscurity for a while. I mean, not that I’m supremely popular or anything to begin with – just that for a chatterbox like me, any period of extended silence feels like weird, barren and hostile territory. It’s all good though. This mermaid’s virtual voice is almost back, so I’m almost part of your world again (Disney ftw).

During my social media vacation, I managed to clear my head and decided on some big changes for the blog and site. I changed my Blog design, so check it out! It’s now easier to see my older posts without having to scroll through entire posts, and you’ll notice that my affection for lavender is resurfacing again. I’ve also decided to start a Facebook Page. That means I’m no longer connecting the recipes to my personal Facebook page. If you’re my FB friend and follow the posts on that, you can go ahead and Like the Page HERE if you’d like to continue to see my posts on FB. This is my last post to be connected to my personal page.

I’ll be periodically adding all of my previous blog posts to Facebook as well. So you’ll see it all in one lovely place. You might just get sick of me.

The next step in this totally unplanned and free spirited process is sharing a potato recipe that I came up with as I was cooking. It’s buttery and walnutty and exactly the kind of food you want when you’re on vacation – easy, buttery and carb-y.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Buttery Walnut Potatoes

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients
3 Potatoes
2 ½ tbsp. Butter
2 tbsp Walnuts, chopped
½ tsp Thyme
1 ½ tsp Lemon Pepper
1 Onion
2 cloves Garlic

Walnut Oil, for drizzling (optional)

Instructions
Cut potatoes into half lengthways, then into slices. Boil potatoes in salted water until tender. Drain and let cool. This can be done a day or two in advance.

Melt butter in pan. Add onions and cook on medium heat until translucent. Add garlic, thyme, lemon pepper and potatoes and stir, ensuring that potatoes are evenly coated. Cook for 2 minutes without stirring, allowing the edges of the potatoes to crisp up.

During this time, you can chop the walnuts. Add walnuts to pan and stir again, lowering the heat slightly. Keep an eye on pan, stirring occasionally to ensure that the walnuts are toasted, but do not burn. Cook for another minute or two, remove from heat and serve immediately. Drizzle with oil for a nuttier flavour if desired.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

So that’s about it for today. See you soon and stay tuned on Facebook. I’m excited to share my posts on a new forum, and also to include interesting articles and bits and pieces that I come across but are sadly edited out of these posts. Yes, I do edit myself :p

12 comments

  1. I just came back to blogging. I took a break and I think it helped my mind, somehow. This looks awesome! I love anything potatoes. Happy FF! 🙂

    • Welcome back, Jhuls! I know what you mean. I started to feel a little overwhelmed with the writing especially but the break was nice and I’m happy to be back. Happy to have you back too!

Leave a Reply

