Patellas, Plays & Ricotta Pasta Sauce

My Mom shattered her kneecap last weekend, and I’m not being dramatic. It didn’t break cleanly in half – it broke into a few pieces. Technically, it’s her patella that got broken, which had my dad calling it “a cappella” which made me feel the need to burst into song…which I may or may not have done. The surgery went well, but she’s pretty much confined to the sofa for the next 6 weeks, using crutches to get around and to my knowledge, is yet to accept any piggyback rides from my brother. Apart from working from home, the phone, TV and internet, we got her books, Sudoku, and the pleasure of our company. If you have any suggestions in terms of passing the time when you’re laid up, feel free to send them my way!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Side note: those tomatoes are from our super awesome garden. More on that later.

We were taken up with her surgery, so I didn’t get to make the Butterbeer Recipe I talked about in my last post. I ended up reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child on the plane and therefore couldn’t check any type of social media so yay! I actually didn’t spoil the story for myself. My brother tried to maintain the whole aloof, “HP is for children and I’ve outgrown it” persona but I caught him reading over my shoulder more than once. I personally felt the joy well up in my whole body when I held the book in my hand. Technically, it was the ebook and I didn’t buy the hard copy until later. Then I bought another copy for my friend, and my sister bought a copy for her boyfriend. So it seems we no longer buy chocolate or souvenirs when we’re traveling back home anymore. HP trumps all.

As for the story itself, I thought the first part was wonderful. I don’t want to get all spoilery here but I’m really thrilled about the Malfoys and their role in the story. I also like the few bits that were thrown in to answer nagging questions – i.e. why weren’t time turners used in the Battle of Hogwarts? In my opinion, the second part kind of goes off the rails in a big way and ends up kind of reading like fan fiction. But who cares? It’s Harry Potter, and if they made a movie based on the play I’d still totally watch it. I’d still buy tickets for the play itself if I was in England. And you know what? I kind of like the concept that the Cursed Child title can be bestowed to so many of the characters, so it’s never really clear who the cursed one actually is. For further debate on this or any other HP statement I’ve made, please feel free to message me. Lol.

Today’s recipe is a simple Ricotta pasta sauce. Sometimes I feel like there are such limited uses for ricotta, which is totally untrue. The uses are just often paired with Italian food ( because it goes so well together!), or in cake, so you never really get to enjoy it on its own. I’ve tried it before in a white pizza, and it was wonderful. So I decided to use a similar ingredient base – onions, garlic, wine and see what I came up with.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Ricotta Pasta Sauce

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 15 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients
2 medium Onions, sliced
2 cloves Garlic, crushed & minced
1 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
1/2 tsp Black Pepper
1/2 – 3/4 tsp Salt
1 tbsp Olive Oil

1 cup Spinach
1/2 cup Ricotta
1/4 White Wine
1/2 cup Pasta water

Pinch of Sugar

Pasta of choice

Instructions
Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain, reserving 1/2 cup water.

In a frying pan, cook the onions with a pinch of sugar and olive oil on very low heat until translucent, about 5 minutes. Add wine and garlic. Raise heat to medium-low, cover and let simmer until the wine has almost completely reduced.

Add ricotta, pasta water, peppers and salt, stir and let simmer until the mixture is thickened, about 5-7 minutes. Stir in spinach and let cook for one minute more.

Taste and adjust for salt & pepper based on your personal preference and serve atop pasta.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset


Reading: How to Climb Mont Blanc in a Skirt: A Handbook for the Lady Adventurer by Mick Conefrey. I just started it and I expect it to be a pretty cool read.

Watching: I’ve been re-watching a lot of Parks & Recreation recently. I do love that show. I’ve been seeing the ads for “Stranger Things” all over the place as well as the great reviews so I may just be binge-watching that this weekend.

Listening: Achoo! Bless You by Wild Eyes.

11 comments

  1. Fast healing wishes to your mom! Hopefully, time will fly by and she’ll be back on two legs real soon. ( Too old for HP? Never! I’m much, much older than you and I have my copy!) I love the flavors and simplicity of your ricotta sauce…yummy!

    • Thanks for the kind wishes, Dixya 🙂 I don’t often make white sauces either, but sometimes I just don’t feel like a tomato-y sauce. So it’s nice to have an alternate sauce on hand.

  2. Hope your mom feels better soon. Love the ricotta sauce with the spinach and pasta! Thanks for bringing it to Fiesta Friday and sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

