Stranger Things & Lemony Asparagus Salad

illcook-youwash

I mentioned in my last post that I was going to give “Stranger Things” on Netflix a try. Some friends (Hi Nadia & Talia!) also encouraged me to watch it… AND. I. LOVE. IT!!! I love it. I love it! If you take one recommendation from me this year (or ever), take this one. I’ve been recommending it to anyone who will listen, and I most recently got my friend Vijay to watch it. His first comment was a very rude “I hate suspense” but then half an hour later I get the “Where’s the kid???” message. He’s hooked.

When I first started writing this post, I was only on episode 3 and this is what I originally wrote: “… I’m only on episode 3 because I’ve been waiting to watch it with Rabin and he’s been busy lately. But I’m pretty sure I’m gonna drop him soon and binge watch all on my own. Sorry, not sorry. It’s a cold, hard world out there. It’s best he learn that early.” Lol. Luckily for him, he made himself available on Friday and we watched out the rest of the episodes. There are only 8 episodes, unfortunately. But check out the trailer below and tell me you don’t want to see it. Because then I’ll unfriend you.

But anyways, back to the gushing adoration of this show! If you haven’t see it, don’t worry, I’m not going to spoil anything. Just know that the casting is totally perfect, the relationships feel authentic and meaningful, the 80s vibe and music has me nostalgic and longing for a decade that I lived through a little over half of but doesn’t count because my age was in the single digits. It has a very Fringe / Lost vibe to it (which my brother freaked out about because he was going to message me the other day with that same observation), and I love that Steve looks like Jean-Ralphio from Parks & Recreation. I’ve even been playing around with the Title Card Generator at Make it Stranger, as you may have noticed above.

Now I want to actually watch movies I previously has no interest in watching, like ET and Jaws and Close Encounters of the Third Kind and the Goonies because if those movies have half of the magic that Stranger Things has, I can understand why they’re considered classics. Somebody please stonewash a pair of jeans for me!

IMG_5706

The salad I’m sharing today has nothing to do with Stranger Things. Unless you consider salad to be a strange thing to eat. I basically wanted a fresh, crisp salad, wanted to cook asparagus differently, and I wanted the dressing to have a bright, lemony flavor. So there you go.

Lemony Asparagus Salad

  • Servings: 2-4
  • Time: 10 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IMG_5701

Ingredients for Salad
8 – 10 stalks Asparagus
2 cups Mixed salad greens of choice. I used 1 cup Iceberg lettuce and 1 cup Romaine
Lemon Zest from 1/2 Lemon
1/4 Yellow Bell Pepper
1/4 cup corn

Ingredients for Lemon Dressing
Juice of one Lemon (about 3 tbsp)
1 tsp Black Pepper
1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
1 tbsp Olive Oil
Flaxseed or ground nuts, for topping (optional)

IMG_5701
Instructions for Salad
Set a pot of water to boil. Trim the asparagus (easiest way is by snapping off the dry bit at the bottom of the stalk) and cut into thirds. Place in boiling water for 4 minutes. While it is boiling, prepare an ice bath by pouring some water and ice into a bowl. After 4 minutes, plunge the asparagus into the ice bath for a few minutes. This will help to stop the cooking and keep it crispy, and will keep it’s bright, vibrant colour.

Cut lettuce, and slice bell peppers. Add to bowl with lemon zest, corn and asparagus.

Instructions for Lemon Dressing
Whisk all ingredients together and drizzle over salad.

IMG_5699

Watching: Have you not been reading this post?
Listening: The Stranger Things Soundtrack. Obviously.
Reading: Stranger Things theories and predictions for Season 2.

I’m pretty one-note this week, huh? Strange.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

