Roasted Garlic Potato Soup & being a Soup-er Food Psychic

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I make a mixed veggie soup about once a week. I admit – soup is usually a disrespected meal in my house – I make it when no other pot or pan is clean, or I’m too lazy to thaw out any meat or spend too much time in the kitchen. I dump whatever is around languishing in the fridge into the pot and voila! A real, adult meal. I totally meant to make it that way.

What makes it ridiculously, infinitely better is when I happen to make the soup the night before a heavy rainfall. I love LOVE waking up to see the sky overcast and remembering that there’s soup in the fridge. I mean, what warms you up better than a hot meal on a cold-ish day? I feel like a food psychic, or that I have some kind of intense nurturing-food-weather-instinct-or-radar that I don’t even know about. I’ll come up with a better name. I promise.

I prefer to think that as opposed to it just being a coincidence, so just let me have this, okay?

In a shocking twist, today’s recipe is a soup! It’s a smooth, hearty, velvety soup that is very very basic with ingredients, but has a very rich taste. Why? Time, my friends.

First off, you’re roasting garlic, which is one of my favourite ways to eat garlic, and you can prepare the roasted garlic a few days in advance which will cut down your cooking time considerably. I talk about preparing roasted garlic in detail here, and it actually is one of my more popular posts. Plus you’re allowing the onions some time to get slightly caramelized and extra delicious.

Potato & Roasted Garlic Soup

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Ingredients

3 heads Garlic
4 medium Potatoes, scrubbed and cut into slices.
3 small Onions, sliced
3 tbsp. Butter, unsalted
4 1/2 cups Stock or choice of Water
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 heaping tsp Black Pepper
1/4 heaping tsp Red Pepper Flakes

Instructions
Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Roast Garlic. Once cool, squeeze the cloves out. Mash with a fork into a paste.

Add butter and onion to pot on low heat. Let cook on low heat until translucent and slightly caramelized, about 7-10 minutes. Add potatoes, salt & seasonings and bring to a boil. Let cook until potatoes are almost soft and add garlic. Stir to distribute the paste and let boil for a minute or so more.

Note: I kept the soup thick and chunky. I had considered blending it and I’m sure it would be delicious, but I was just in the mood for a food with lots of bits and pieces. Puree to your heart’s content and let me know how it goes.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Listening: High and Low – Joshua Radin (one of my absolute favourite singers)
Reading: In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware. Technically, I just finished it and while it started off well enough,  I wasn’t that impressed overall, to be honest.
Watching: The Blindspot premiere tonight! Or probably tomorrow since I’m an old lady and value my sleep. I’m giving the show another chance this season even though Kurt Weller (the Captain Obvious of the show) is not exactly the most compelling reason to stay awake.

One comment

Leave a Reply

