German Black Forest Cake Smoothie

You’ve heard of Black Forest Cake. You’ve heard of German Chocolate Cake. Now you’re gonna hear about my German Black Forest Cake Smoothie.

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

Yep, I’m hearing you guys ask, “Didn’t Indi used to hate smoothies?” “Wasn’t she confused by the point of them?” Maybe I should make a crow smoothie (get it? I’m eating crow). When I posted my first Smoothie recipe, I pretty much publicly announced my disdain for smoothies. My friend Tracy messaged me and told me that she couldn’t understand why I didn’t like them because she and her husband absolutely love them. After I posted my next smoothie recipe, she messaged me again and told me she knew that I’d come over to the smoothie side 🙂 . So Tracy and everyone else, I’m publicly admitting that I was wrong – smoothies are pretty great and they’re a lazy girl’s way to get a crapload (I do believe that’s the technical term) of nutrients and vitamins that you might not get otherwise.

photo 1 (13)

So this recipe takes the best elements of the two cakes and brings them together in the healthiest way possible. Chocolate, whipped cream, maraschino cherries & coconut are converted to chocolate protein powder, coconut milk whipped cream & sweet dark cherries. Ladies & Gents, we have Protein, fiber, vitamins C, E, B1, B3, B5 and B6 and minerals including iron, selenium, sodium, calcium, magnesium and phosphorous. We have antioxidants AND we have Omega-3 essential fatty acids. All of that in one creamy, dessert-like drink.

photo 3 (4)

Once I opened myself up to the smoothie love, ideas just started rushing in. I have at least 3 ideas just chilling in my head right now and I’ve been experimenting since I got these gorgeous travel mason jars. I absolutely LOVE these travel jars and just seeing the pretty straws feels like that unexpected smile you get from the barista at your local coffee watering hole. Also, the looks that we get when we stroll into work with our green or other colourful smoothie is bonus entertainment.

German Chocolate Cake Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 2 minutes
  • Difficulty: super easy
  • Print

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

3/4 Cup Vanilla Flavoured Soymilk
1/2 Cup Frozen Cherries
1/4 Cup Coconut Whipped Cream (I used leftovers I had in freezer, but 3 tbsp of Coconut milk should be just fine)
1 Scoop Chocolate Protein Powder (about 1.5 Tbsp)
1 Tbsp ground Flaxseed

Place all ingredients in blender. Mix until smooth. Alternatively, place in cup and use an immersion blender to mix (less dishes).

Since I had my coconut milk whipped cream in the freezer, it paired nicely with the frozen cherries and sold soymilk to make the smoothie just cold enough. If you prefer it colder, toss a few ice cubes in & drink asap. You don’t want a diluted smoothie. Coconut whipped cream is super easy to make btw – whip a little refrigerated coconut milk solids until it resembles whipped cream.

I’m bringing this to my Fiesta Friday crew and also linking up with Laura at the Gluten-Free Treadmill. Laura’s smoothie recipes are always delicious and her monthly smoothie link-up is something I’ve started to look forward to! Yes. Still drinking that crow smoothie. Sigh. Being wrong sucks. Better drown my sorrows in a smoothie…dammit.

Hope you guys have a great weekend, and remember to take a few minutes to appreciate your family, friends and loved ones.

 

39 comments

  1. Welcome to the smoothie side 😉 I lovve them ^^ And I also love yours! It looks and sounds dellicious! That travelling jar is amazing! (jealous) Happy Fiesta Friday!

  2. Hi Indira, thank you so much for bringing this fabulous smoothie to this weeks Fiesta Friday, I think you could even turn me onto smoothies with this one….!!! And of course, if it’s got a ‘crapload’ of goodness in it must be good!!! Nice to meet you 🙂

    • Thanks Selma! The crow was quite bitter :). I was reading up a bit about juicing actually. Is it filling? That’s a big concern of mine lol… I somehow feel that I’m healthier if the drink is thicker :s

  3. Oh my gosh! I’ve been making lots of smoothies lately, and have cherries. This looks awesome! I don’t have choc protein powder, but maybe I can use the vanilla with some cocoa powder as a quick substitution? Thanks for sharing!!!

  4. Oh my lovely Indira… I’m so happy you’ve come to the smoothie side! This is such a beautiful one too!! I’m loving the black forest cake idea… that’s just brilliant!! I’m going to make this tomorrow for myself…and think of you while I sit on my porch, put my feet up and relax and enjoy this delicious smoothie. I can’t wait!! ❤

  5. Smoothies! I love them so much, but I just throw a bunch of random fruits together usually. I love how you themed your smoothie to taste like a black forest cake. 🙂

    • Thanks Kaila! I used to do that as well and maybe that’s why I didn’t care for smoothies too much. Now that I concentrate and put effort into the ingredients, I find it a lot more interesting lol

  6. Hey Indira,
    When I first read the title, I said to myself, ” this is too rich, this is not for me”. But it got me curious. When I read it in entirety,I realized that it was dairy -free and nutrient-rich. Great job!
    This is my first time here at Fiesta Friday and I am thoroughly enjoying myself!

Leave a Reply

