Avocado Cream Pie & Co-Hosting Fiesta Friday

Today I’m excited and honoured to be co-hosting Fiesta Friday with the lovely Prudy @ Butter, Basil & Breadcrumbs. Fiesta Friday is regularly hosted by Angie over at The Novice Gardener. Angie is a great host and I’m very excited to be temporarily stepping into one of her shoes. Prudy & I will be visiting all of you to check out what you’ve brought to the party!  I’ve been linking up with Fiesta Friday for a while now and I really enjoy hanging out with this wonderful group of people every week. It is a great way to meet like minded bloggers who are supportive and genuinely interested in what you have to say. If you haven’t visited this great weekly collection of recipes as yet, please go now, and If you’re a food blogger, join the party and link your recipe! So what did I bring to the party? Avocado Cream Pie with a Date Nut Crust & Coconut Whipped Cream. Whew! That was a mouthful. Image I have an Avocado guy. How cool and mysterious does that sound? Need an Avocado? I know a guy *does nonchalant chin nod*. After being persuaded to buy 3, my Mom called me to tell me she had a large avocado to give me. So what’s a girl to do? Yep, that’s right. Make dessert. Although the recipe is very dessert-ish, it is surprisingly light and filling at the same time and I actually didn’t feel guilty when I had one for dinner. The coconut whipped cream part of the recipe isn’t mine – it was adapted from Angela at Oh She Glows, one of my favourite vegan blogs. I’m not vegan, but that doesn’t make the recipes any less delicious.

Avocado Cream Pie w/ Date Nut Crust & Coconut Whipped Cream

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Date & Nut Crust

Ingredients

1 Cup Walnuts

1 Cup Pistachios

1 Tbsp Shredded Coconut

4 pitted Medjool Dates

 

Avocado Cream Pie

Ingredients

1 Medium Avocado

2 tbsp Mascarpone Cheese

1 tbsp fresh Lemon Juice

2 tbsp Coconut Whipped Cream

½ tbsp. Agave / Honey

Instructions  For Crust: Combine all ingredients in food processor. Dough should be slightly sticky. Press with damp hands into pie plate / tart pan and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Image For Pie: Combine avocado flesh, mascarpone, coconut whipped cream, lemon juice & agave / honey in mixing bowl. Whip for about 3 minutes until smooth and slightly fluffy. Spoon into prepared pie crusts & chill in refrigerator for 10 minutes. Top with a dollop of coconut whipped cream or whipped cream & shredded coconut or finely chopped nuts, if desired. Image   Image

A few notes: I made the whipped cream in the same mixing bowl as the avocado filling without washing it. Any recipe that lets me reuse a bowl without having to wash makes me very happy. This recipe should work quite nicely in a regular pie plate or tart pan although I used 3 small tart pans. While the dish has 3 prep elements, assembling it take very little time. It can be prepared a day in advance because the lemon juice helps the avocado from oxidizing and turning that sickly shade of green/brown. The pie actually kept quite well in the fridge for about 4 days, although it lost a bit of the lightness and freshness that freshly whipped avocado has. Image   Alternatively, you can use regular whipped cream as the topping and omit it from the pie filling completely. It would be a shame though since the coconut flavours the filling quite nicely. I would think that coconut extract or a few drops of coconut oil should be a nice replacement. If you try it that way, share your results in the comments below. ImageBe sure to check out the other recipes at Fiesta Friday, and I’m sure I’ll speak to some of you very soon 🙂 Happy Weekend!

Update: This recipe has been certified as “yummly” 🙂

 

58 comments

  1. Looks wonderful, Indira! Such a gorgeous color, too. The flavors sound wonderful. Thanks for sharing these at Fiesta Friday, as well as taking on the co-hosting duties with Prudy!

  2. What a great dessert, Indira! It looks decadent, but from the looks of the ingredients (especially the avo), I know it is way healthier than most desserts out there. Perfect treat on any evening (or even instead of dinner). Have fun co-hosting and Happy Fiesta Friday!

  3. Hello, Indira! I don’t think we have seen each other at Fiesta! I am Jhuls. 😉 I am glad that you are one of the co-hosts for today’s Fiesta! 🙂

    This looks so good! Thanks for bringing them to the Fiesta! 🙂

  4. Wow Indira! Where is the “Love” button?! After years of hating avocados, I now have a great love for them. I mean, I literally could eat some every day with breakfast, lunch, and dinner. And your recipe….wow! It just made my day! Bookmarked and absolutely going to try!!!

    • Thanks Lori! Plus I know for a fact that you already have coconut whipped cream :). I’ve become a little obsessed with avocados although just like you, I couldn’t stand them a few years back. How quickly our tastes change when we’re cooking, isn’t it?

  5. Well, pretty lady…you ended up being an “odd” number!! But I planned on stopping by anyway to see these lovely tarts… And lovely… they truly are!

    What a delicious way of creating a wonderful dessert with avocado! As I was reading your post, I was trying to decide what could possibly be better… the crust, or the filling? And then I decided BOTH!! The nuts, coconut and dates..( my gosh, how awesome are you to put dates in your crust??!!) are so lovely together, and then combine that with the avocado, mascarpone and lemon… with coconut cream on top? It sounds like pure heaven! And how beautiful it is…

    Thank you so much for bringing such a deliciously beautiful dessert to the table on Fiesta Friday! It’s absolutely perfect. ❤

  6. Oh my. Look at the things you make. I am planning to make something similar with avocados- hope it works! Happy co-hosting- hope we are sober enough for you guys to handle us 😉

    • I look forward to seeing your recipe – I’m the tiniest bit obsessed with avocados and having a new recipe makes me super excited lol. Co-hosting is pretty great so far…and you guys haven’t been too rowdy yet 🙂

  7. Oh wow…these look divine! I love the idea of whipping the avocado up to a light texture AND not having to wash the mixer is a huge bonus! I need an avocado guy, too! So, on a sweetness scale, 1 being not very sweet and 10 being extremely sweet, where would this dessert fall?

    • Thanks Angenette. I’d say about 5? I asked my husband (without divulging my rating) and he rated the sweetness at about 5 as well. We try to stay away from over sweet desserts, and the beauty of this recipe is that you can add more honey / agave if you really need the extra sweetness.

  8. These look amazing!! I wish avocados weren’t so expensive here in Australia at the moment! I’ll keep a look out at the farmers markets this morning to see if I can find any! Oh and I love the name if your blog, so perfect!

    • Thanks Frankie :). We dont always get avocados either and they’re usually pretty expensive, so I generally go crazy when I see nice ones at the market. I hope you find some too. If you try it, let me know how it turns out!

  9. Hey Indira! Thanks so much for hosting us tonight!! You and Prudy are awesome and we are so happy to have you taking care of us!! I love your avocado pie ! I have made a few desserts with avocado, but nothing so lovely as yours! I will make it for sure!! Thanks so much!

    • Thanks Julianna! Hosting has been great – I got so caught up with commenting on the FF crew’s posts that I’m only now seeing all the lovely compliments from you guys. I hope you try it, and let me know how it works out!

    • It really did…I’m surprised at how light and creamy it was actually.I agree, I love the colour…its funny to think about being children and not wanting to eat anything remotely resembling green and now I can’t get enough of it!

    • Thank you! Yep, you can, but it isn’t overpowering. You do taste the coconut which my husband was surprised about. The most dominant flavour is the lemon, but I liked it because it freshened up the dish so much more and make it feel extra fresh!

  10. Lovely recipe, Indira! I haven’t tried avocado in a dessert yet, but your recipe looks like a good place to start. Also thank you for being a fabulous host this week! 😀

  11. Congratulations on your selection as Foodista’s Food Blog of the Day!

    I would to personally invite you to share your gorgeous food photos with us over at Food Foto Gallery . com – In March alone, we had 26,382 visitors to the site & there’s no complicated approval process like the big guys. Any photos related to food (that are not watermarked) are accepted & get posted automatically. Being a food blogger, myself, we also share our daily faves on social media, giving exposure to fellow foodies whenever we can.

    Let me know if you have any questions and hope to see you at the site 🙂

  12. Every year when I visit Taos, NM we go to a place that serves frozen avocado pie>>>it is nice and green and so delicious! I look forward to this taste treat once a year. Maybe this recipe here would do well frozen instead of the 4 days in a fridge concern? Just a thought…..

Leave a comment