Jeweled Kale Salad w/ Citrus Soy Dressing

photo (1)

I was ridiculously excited to see Kale in the market the other day. Kale! I mean, we’re a tropical country so it doesn’t really grow here (as far as I know), and there isn’t large enough of a market to sustain large scale kale (ha! Everyone’s a poet nowadays) importation.

Processed with Moldiv
The culinary equivalent of Emeralds and Amethysts. Yes, family and friends…I just made your gift shopping for me infinitely easier.

I’m not really a jewelry kinda gal. I wear my wedding rings but not all the time, and I’ve taken to wearing a watch recently. I have phases with different types of jewelry (sometimes just expect to see me in a bracelet or a long necklace) but when it comes to coordinating the two, you’ve come to the wrong girl. Plus earrings? Forget about it.

So yes, I’m a nerd who loves food and would rather spend my money on a fancy coffee cup or fancy ingredients than a fancy necklace, so I guess it makes sense that the only jewels that catch my eye are the tones of this salad. Lol. See how I brought it back to food?

photo 1 (13)

I love the look of green and purple together – the simple opulence of the combination makes me think of royal, exotic places, of billowing scarves and lanterns casting their muted golden glow on peacocks roaming around freely. If you’re reading this blog because you’re a food nerd like me, I’m hoping that you can see where I’m coming from. If you’re reading this for any other reason, I’m pretty sure you’re thinking “um…all this for a SALAD!?” Sorry. We eat with our eyes first and that’s what I see. Just don’t call me the salad whisperer.

photo 4 (10)

Jeweled Kale Salad w/ Citrus Soy Dressing

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

For the Salad

1 cup Kale, washed & chopped
1/2 cup Purple Cabbage, chopped
1/2 cup Cashew nuts, raw
1 tsp Sesame seeds (optional)

For the Dressing

1/4 cup Orange Juice
1/4 tsp freshly grated Ginger
1/2 tbsp. Soy Sauce
Pinch Black pepper
Pinch Red Pepper Flakes

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Toast Cashews for 8-10 minutes until golden brown, watching closely to ensure that it doesn’t burn. In the meantime, prepare the Dressing by whisking all ingredients together.

Toss Kale, Cabbage & Cashews with the Dressing. Top with sesame seeds if desired.

photo (11)


Although I love the dressing that paired with this recipe, if you want a heartier, more fall-type salad, or basically just want to use up extras, you can use the Toasted Pumpkin Seed Oil Vinaigrette I posted about a while back instead. It totally works.

Have a fantastic weekend, catch up on all the great shows that have made their debut, get your weekend projects done, call that friend you’ve been meaning to call, read a few more pages in that book on your shelf. Just remember to eat well and be happy.

42 comments

  1. So simple to make but it looks gorgeous! And thanks for the salad dressing suggestion. My husband has developed a bunch of allergies so we can’t just buy dressing.

  2. This is a beautiful salad. Who needs jewelry when you’ve got jewels on your plate? I love seeing such vibrant colors in a bowl. Kale is available in California in abundance, thankfully, and I look forward to make a jeweled salad myself one of these days. Have a great weekend, Indira!

    • I’ve always wanted to grow kale and asparagus, but I don’t think that even grows here unless you’re a super sophisticated gardener with super sophisticated tools lol. Lucky you with the Kale! We do have great crops of other things here…maybe my palate just likes to be difficult lol.

  3. Ditto that. My husband buys me all the things I want for the kitchen plus some. I spend our money on food and wine (leisure money). Who needs the jewels when we epwould rather eat the jewels. Fun read.

    • Thanks Stacey 🙂 I sometimes feel like its “kitchen gadget of the week” in my house so I splurge on that and good ingredients. My husband is a good sport though. At least it isn’t a real jewel of the week lol.

    • Thanks Michelle. I realized the other day that I have a specific regular necklace that I’ve been wearing for the last 8 years. It’s my go-to fancy-ish necklace, and it wasn’t expensive, but 8 years! Crazy…or is it just lazy? Lol

  4. I 100% agree- these are indeed jewel tones! I was just talking with someone the other day in the grocery store about how different kinds of delicious, bright colored foods catch my eye and my wallet soooo much more than bright colored jewelry or clothes! I bet that orange dressing is EXCELLENT on this pretty salad!

    • Thank you! In recent years I’ve really come to love the bright vibrant colours that only fruits & fresh veggies have. Is it wrong to say that it gets me irrationally excited? hehehe

  5. Hey Indira! I love your jewelled salad! Me too: I would far rather spend my money on lovely, bejewelled food items! This is a gorgeous salad and I’m happy for you that you found some kale! 😀

  6. Gorgeous salad Indira! Love the colors too, so vibrant, just begging to be enjoyed! I do believe we can grow kale here in the Eastern USA. I am actually taking a class on Kale believe it or not, the nutrients it exudes is just unbelievable! I’ll be trying this pretty soon, love the citrus flavors going on too.

    • Thanks Loretta! Your kale class sounds pretty interesting – would love to know the details of it. I heard rumblings that some people are trying to grow kale over here, but I guess will have to wait and see.

  7. Happy Fiesta Friday, Indira! Haha! I have to laugh..because I just had a conversation with my daughter about an hour ago, telling her that I didn’t want the extra kale that she had, because I was sick of it this year!! And now, I’ll be texting her after I’m finished typing this to you…to let her know that I want that kale after all. This is not only pretty…but I’m certain it is delicious…

    It’s jewelicious. LOVE this. Thank you so much for sharing…and I cannot wait to give it a try! ❤

  8. You’re a poet and you didn’t even know it. I definitely agree about the color combination, and the dressing sounds delicious. Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend. 😀

  9. This looks really beautiful, very regal indeed! And thanks for the tip on the dressing – I’ve been looking for oil free dressing for some time! Happy ff!

    • Thanks Mandi! I find I’ve gotten very into different types of dressing recently because I never realized how easy it is to whip up a dressing once you have the basic ratios down. Thanks for stopping by!

  10. The salad is beautiful! I love kale and it has just come in to season here. The dressing sounds great with the orange, ginger and soy, mmm 🙂

  11. I’m right with you as far as spending money on food versus self-decoration. I’m so boring when it comes to accessories! I love this dish and the dressing sounds like a favorite recipe of mine.

Leave a Reply

